RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

Notable Archives - Page 2 of 78 - The Catholic Thing


On the interrelation of unchanging doctrines

Wednesday, December 6, 2023


On the Mystery of the Incarnation

Tuesday, December 5, 2023


Church Going

Monday, December 4, 2023


A Serious and Pathetical Contemplation of the Mercies of God

Friday, December 1, 2023


Holy Sonnets: This is my play’s last scene

Thursday, November 30, 2023


On Watts’ Picture of Paolo and Francesca

Wednesday, November 29, 2023


Protestantism is dead . . .

Tuesday, November 28, 2023


The Heavenly Kingdom

Monday, November 27, 2023


A Catholic Thanksgiving

Thursday, November 23, 2023


What the new convert sees in the Catholic Church

Wednesday, November 22, 2023


For it is not I who live, but Christ who lives in me

Tuesday, November 21, 2023


Penmaen Pool

Monday, November 20, 2023


We still have a long way to go

Friday, November 17, 2023


The state of good and evil is irreversible

Thursday, November 16, 2023


The Canonization

Wednesday, November 15, 2023


Sex and gender are not separable

Tuesday, November 14, 2023


Jesus: God and man

Monday, November 13, 2023


Eternal Life – what is it?

Friday, November 10, 2023


In defense of life

Thursday, November 9, 2023


Holy Sonnet XIII

Wednesday, November 8, 2023


The cynicism of intellectuals

Tuesday, November 7, 2023


Tolerance exploited in service to Ideology

Monday, November 6, 2023


Remembrance

Friday, November 3, 2023


To What Serves Mortal Beauty?

Thursday, November 2, 2023


Why honor the saints?

Wednesday, November 1, 2023


Prayer for the Church Militant

Tuesday, October 31, 2023


Auroras of Autumn – VII

Monday, October 30, 2023


The land of lost content

Friday, October 27, 2023


The slavery of dogma?

Thursday, October 26, 2023


Only godless ideology could plan and carry out extermination of a whole people

Wednesday, October 25, 2023


The permanent Magisterium

Tuesday, October 24, 2023


Christ burst the fetters of death

Monday, October 23, 2023


Disagreement is not hostility

Friday, October 20, 2023


The precept prohibiting adultery

Thursday, October 19, 2023


Church has no authority whatsoever to confer priestly ordination on women

Wednesday, October 18, 2023


Day in Autumn

Tuesday, October 17, 2023


The Thorn

Monday, October 16, 2023


To His Coy Mistress

Friday, October 13, 2023


Brothers

Thursday, October 12, 2023


The Desolate City

Wednesday, October 11, 2023


Hamlet spars with Rosencrantz and Guildenstern

Tuesday, October 10, 2023


Pope John XXIII: conservative

Monday, October 9, 2023


The Prophet (inspired by Ezekiel)

Friday, October 6, 2023


What, then, is Religious Liberty?

Thursday, October 5, 2023


The Phoenix and the Turtle

Wednesday, October 4, 2023


If poisonous minerals, and if that tree

Tuesday, October 3, 2023


In the name of these little ones

Monday, October 2, 2023


The big Thing that is broken

Friday, September 29, 2023


Lois reunites with Kieth [sic], her long-lost older brother, about to be ordained

Thursday, September 28, 2023


Hurrahing in Harvest

Wednesday, September 27, 2023