RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

Columns Archives - The Catholic Thing


Down with Christopher Columbus?

Friday, July 10, 2020


Lessons of the Latest Abuse Numbers

Thursday, July 9, 2020


Masked Faces and the Holy Face

Wednesday, July 8, 2020


Abortion is the Crux

Tuesday, July 7, 2020


Tissot’s Great Reversion

Monday, July 6, 2020


The Impious Public Square

Sunday, July 5, 2020


Escape Clause

Saturday, July 4, 2020


One by One, or Nothing

Friday, July 3, 2020


Credit to the Man

Thursday, July 2, 2020


“A Republic, If You Can Keep It”

Wednesday, July 1, 2020


Gorsuch Does Transgenderism: Notes on the Wreckage

Tuesday, June 30, 2020


We’re All on the Frontlines Now

Monday, June 29, 2020


Love and Worthiness

Sunday, June 28, 2020


On Being a Castaway

Saturday, June 27, 2020


Iconoclasm – and Us

Friday, June 26, 2020


Our Deeper Task

Thursday, June 25, 2020


Seattle, Columbus, and Historical Fictions

Wednesday, June 24, 2020


What’s Wrong with Bostock

Tuesday, June 23, 2020


Further Thoughts on Transgenderism

Monday, June 22, 2020


The Sacred Heart of Jesus

Sunday, June 21, 2020


Style, man, style

Saturday, June 20, 2020


On Public Statuary

Friday, June 19, 2020


Art, Sacred and Profane

Thursday, June 18, 2020


Life in a Post-Totalitarian System

Wednesday, June 17, 2020


The Ebbing of Truth

Tuesday, June 16, 2020


Today Is Not That Day

Monday, June 15, 2020


Saint Juliana and Corpus Christi

Pope Benedict XVI

Sunday, June 14, 2020


The Shock of Holy Dread

Saturday, June 13, 2020


White Privilege and Other Matters

Friday, June 12, 2020


Are These Not My People?

Thursday, June 11, 2020


Two Visits to the House of Slaves

Wednesday, June 10, 2020


Christ, the Church, Culture, and Cardinal Cupich

Tuesday, June 9, 2020


Caravaggio: Revelation and Revolution

Monday, June 8, 2020


Beyond the Lockdown

Sunday, June 7, 2020


Through a Child’s Eyes

Saturday, June 6, 2020


The Recovery

Friday, June 5, 2020


My Ultimate Purgatory Fear

Thursday, June 4, 2020


All Conflict, All the Time

Wednesday, June 3, 2020


Bracing for the Court in June

Tuesday, June 2, 2020


Walking a High Road

Monday, June 1, 2020


The Spirit Becomes the Soul of the Church

Sunday, May 31, 2020


Italy Returns to Masses

Saturday, May 30, 2020


Postmodern Anarchism – and Atheism

Friday, May 29, 2020


Catholic Schools and the Common Good

Thursday, May 28, 2020


Still Waiting for Full Accountability on Abuse

Wednesday, May 27, 2020


What Video Masses Can Teach Us about the Mass

Tuesday, May 26, 2020


Our Plague

Monday, May 25, 2020


Out of This World We’re In

Sunday, May 24, 2020


Why Young Christians Get “Weird”

Saturday, May 23, 2020


The Anti-Thing

Friday, May 22, 2020