RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

Columns Archives - The Catholic Thing


The Church is Holy

Sunday, September 23, 2018


A Theology of Home

Saturday, September 22, 2018


Doctrine Precedes Morality

Friday, September 21, 2018


Rome Failed on McCarrick – and Needs to Change

Thursday, September 20, 2018


An Open Letter to Theodore McCarrick

Wednesday, September 19, 2018


Moms at Mass, and Other Heroes

Tuesday, September 18, 2018


Drowning Man

Monday, September 17, 2018


When the Priest Turns Atheist

Sunday, September 16, 2018


The Worthiness of Work

Saturday, September 15, 2018


Two On the Crisis

David Warren and Christopher Altieri

Friday, September 14, 2018


Some Action – Maybe – Starts Today

Thursday, September 13, 2018


St. Thomas More Can Guide Us Now

Wednesday, September 12, 2018


On Persuading “Man to Be Acquainted with Himself”

Tuesday, September 11, 2018


Church, Clericalism, Corruption

Monday, September 10, 2018


Don’t Protestantize the Church

Sunday, September 9, 2018


Restoring Confidence in the Catholic Faith

Saturday, September 8, 2018


Old Heresies Never Die

Friday, September 7, 2018


The Church Will Endure: It’s All in the Ring

Thursday, September 6, 2018


Jesus’ Wholly New Way of Life

Wednesday, September 5, 2018


Masterpiece: St. Thomas More’s Epitaph

Tuesday, September 4, 2018


Unknown Caller: a Review of “The Apparition”

Monday, September 3, 2018


On to the Promised Land

Sunday, September 2, 2018


There is a God; I am not Him

Saturday, September 1, 2018


Something More Than a “Crisis”

Friday, August 31, 2018


The Deeper Crisis: Abuse of Authority

Thursday, August 30, 2018


Persecuted Christians Keep the Faith – and Are Ignored by Those Who Don’t

Wednesday, August 29, 2018


On the 51st Psalm

Tuesday, August 28, 2018


A Cleansing Fire

Monday, August 27, 2018


Pray More, Pray Harder

Sunday, August 26, 2018


Beware of Adding Scandal to Scandal

Saturday, August 25, 2018


J.S. Mill and Hate Speech

Friday, August 24, 2018


Policies, Procedures, Protocols

Thursday, August 23, 2018


On Irreverence and Solemnity

Wednesday, August 22, 2018


Sex as Play

Tuesday, August 21, 2018


O Ireland

Monday, August 20, 2018


My Slow News Week

Sunday, August 19, 2018


Death and Life in Argentina’s Purple Land

Saturday, August 18, 2018


Too Big to Succeed

Friday, August 17, 2018


Some Home Truths about the McCarrick Case

Thursday, August 16, 2018


Spiritual Fatherhood (and Motherhood)

Wednesday, August 15, 2018


On News Reports

Tuesday, August 14, 2018


Trust

Monday, August 13, 2018


Catholicism in a Rancorous Age

Sunday, August 12, 2018


Benedict XVI: Prophet

Saturday, August 11, 2018


Seeds of Destruction

Friday, August 10, 2018


A Tale of Two Women

Thursday, August 9, 2018


Enough Already

Wednesday, August 8, 2018


If You Love Me, Keep My Commandments

Tuesday, August 7, 2018


Home Free

Monday, August 6, 2018


Errand Boys for Jesus

Sunday, August 5, 2018