Columns Archives - The Catholic Thing


Walking in Space on Inauguration Day

Friday, January 20, 2017


Architectural Signs of Hope

Thursday, January 19, 2017


Meltdown in Malta

Wednesday, January 18, 2017


On the Worst President

Tuesday, January 17, 2017


Letter from Birmingham Jail

Monday, January 16, 2017


Righteousness Exalts a Nation

Sunday, January 15, 2017


The Real Sword of Honor

Saturday, January 14, 2017


Light from the East for Millennials – and Everyone

Friday, January 13, 2017


Recognizing the Face of Evil

Thursday, January 12, 2017


Andrew Cuomo: NY’s Machiavellian Governor

Wednesday, January 11, 2017


Vapid Goodyness

Tuesday, January 10, 2017


Acts of Recovery: Schall and Esolen

Monday, January 9, 2017


The Civilization That Is Catholic

Sunday, January 8, 2017


Philemon and the New Man in Christ

Saturday, January 7, 2017


A Luddite Reflects

Friday, January 6, 2017


The Newer Clericalism

Thursday, January 5, 2017


The Universities We Do and Do Not Need

Wednesday, January 4, 2017


On Determinism

Tuesday, January 3, 2017


The Future of the Past

Monday, January 2, 2017


The Holy Mother of God

Sunday, January 1, 2017


The Mystery in the Christ Child’s Smile

Saturday, December 31, 2016


The “Good News” of an Ideological Party

Friday, December 30, 2016


Speak Truth to Power?

Thursday, December 29, 2016


Our Responsibility to Criticize Islam

Wednesday, December 28, 2016


A Christmas Baptism in Exile

Tuesday, December 27, 2016


Christus Apostata: Scorsese’s “Silence”

Monday, December 26, 2016


He Who Speaks to You

Sunday, December 25, 2016


Words and the Word

Saturday, December 24, 2016


Envy, at Christmastime

Friday, December 23, 2016


The Coming of Christmas

Thursday, December 22, 2016


Behold Your King Comes

Wednesday, December 21, 2016


On Being a Person

Tuesday, December 20, 2016


Emmanuel and Islam

Monday, December 19, 2016


“The Obedience of Faith”

Sunday, December 18, 2016


Rewriting the History of Two Synods?

Saturday, December 17, 2016


Can We Float in Mid-air?

Friday, December 16, 2016


The Pope, Christmas, and the “Fake News” about Hitler

Thursday, December 15, 2016


On the Feast of St. John of the Cross

Wednesday, December 14, 2016


Prophecies and Charlie’s Angels

Tuesday, December 13, 2016


Catholic and Correct: Zmirak’s “PIG Catholicism”

Monday, December 12, 2016


Wise Men

Sunday, December 11, 2016


Fact & Fiction

Saturday, December 10, 2016


On God, the Moral Law, and Losing Your Mind

Friday, December 9, 2016


Mary’s Wild Tranquility

Thursday, December 8, 2016


The Vagina Monologues Are Silenced

Wednesday, December 7, 2016


On War

Tuesday, December 6, 2016


The Quality of Mercy

Monday, December 5, 2016


Season of Hope

Sunday, December 4, 2016


The Dangerous Road of Papal Silence

Saturday, December 3, 2016


Whose Side Are We on?

Friday, December 2, 2016