RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

Columns Archives - The Catholic Thing


Does Length of Life Matter?

Tuesday, January 22, 2019


Jesus on Screen

Monday, January 21, 2019


Crime – and Punishment for the Good of Souls

Sunday, January 20, 2019


A Brief to Princes

Saturday, January 19, 2019


Faith, Reason, Life

Friday, January 18, 2019


Wuerl Misread the Crisis; Pope Francis Need Not

Thursday, January 17, 2019


Unsafe “Safe Spaces”

Wednesday, January 16, 2019


A Brief Primer on the Devil

Tuesday, January 15, 2019


The Idol of Our Age

Monday, January 14, 2019


Thoughts on Baptism

Sunday, January 13, 2019


Schall at 91—an Interim Report

Saturday, January 12, 2019


Separating Civil from Religious Weddings

Friday, January 11, 2019


Pranked by the Cross

Thursday, January 10, 2019


Approaching Mormons

Wednesday, January 9, 2019


Four Ways to Extend Christmas

Tuesday, January 8, 2019


Old Man Driving: A Review of Eastwood’s “The Mule”

Monday, January 7, 2019


Does the Church Exclude?

Sunday, January 6, 2019


Lead Us Not into Temptation, But Deliver Us From Evil

Saturday, January 5, 2019


Of Cesspits & Sewers

Friday, January 4, 2019


Giving Due Process Its Due

Thursday, January 3, 2019


A Foolish, Blessed Inconsistency

Wednesday, January 2, 2019


Bethlehem’s Mosaic of Humility

Tuesday, January 1, 2019


Some Impractical, Imprudent (Possibly Impudent) New Year’s Resolutions

Monday, December 31, 2018


The Child Is Born

Sunday, December 30, 2018


Back to Basics in “Made This Way”

Saturday, December 29, 2018


In a Pessimistic Mood

Friday, December 28, 2018


Vermeer’s Catholic “Allegory”

Thursday, December 27, 2018


Dies Natalis

Wednesday, December 26, 2018


God’s Gratuitous Gift

Tuesday, December 25, 2018


The World’s Desire

Monday, December 24, 2018


Gracious Words

Sunday, December 23, 2018


On Being Catholic Modern

Saturday, December 22, 2018


Science in the Unmaking

Friday, December 21, 2018


Piecemeal but Concrete Beginnings of Reform

Thursday, December 20, 2018


Some Men Are Born Eunuchs . . .

Wednesday, December 19, 2018


History Ain’t What It Used to Be

Tuesday, December 18, 2018


A Troubling Year in Review

Monday, December 17, 2018


The Peace of God Will Guard Your Minds and Hearts!

Sunday, December 16, 2018


On Curiosity

Saturday, December 15, 2018


The “Protestant” Catholics

Friday, December 14, 2018


Are Churches Easily Dispensable?

Thursday, December 13, 2018


Queen of the New Evangelization

Wednesday, December 12, 2018


Remembering – and still learning from – Solzhenitsyn

Tuesday, December 11, 2018


Instant Family: A Review

Monday, December 10, 2018


“For Me to Live Is Christ!”

Sunday, December 9, 2018


Getting Our Creation Wrong

Saturday, December 8, 2018


Outrage

Friday, December 7, 2018


Advent and Reform

Thursday, December 6, 2018


The Laws of Love

Wednesday, December 5, 2018


On Uniqueness

Tuesday, December 4, 2018