RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

Columns Archives - The Catholic Thing


A Different Kind of Catholicism?

Monday, December 5, 2022


The Burden of Tradition

Sunday, December 4, 2022


Signs of Contradiction

Saturday, December 3, 2022


From 8,000,000,000 to Zero

Friday, December 2, 2022


The Trouble with Bishops’ Conferences

Thursday, December 1, 2022


Everything is (not) Broken

Wednesday, November 30, 2022


Thanksgiving for a Great-Souled Man

Tuesday, November 29, 2022


Having and Not Having

Monday, November 28, 2022


The Lord of History

Sunday, November 27, 2022


The Trainwreck of White-Collar Sympathy

Saturday, November 26, 2022


Welcoming the Stranger

Friday, November 25, 2022


The Virtue of Gratitude

Thursday, November 24, 2022


Improving the Church

Wednesday, November 23, 2022


COVID Amnesty for Bishops?

Tuesday, November 22, 2022


To Stay in the Fight

Monday, November 21, 2022


The Road of Merciful Love

Sunday, November 20, 2022


Sound a Liberal Arts Revolution

Saturday, November 19, 2022


The Mirror of Charity

Friday, November 18, 2022


Our Shared Point of Reference

Thursday, November 17, 2022


Living Bread Come Down from Heaven

Wednesday, November 16, 2022


Synodality? How about Better Preaching

Tuesday, November 15, 2022


Mary the Great

Monday, November 14, 2022


Joining Heaven with Earth

Sunday, November 13, 2022


Build Then, Always

Saturday, November 12, 2022


Of Nazis and “Nazis”

Friday, November 11, 2022


The Jesuits: What Went Wrong

Thursday, November 10, 2022


The Wreck of Vatican II

Wednesday, November 9, 2022


Catholics at the Midterms

Tuesday, November 8, 2022


We’ve Got Issues – and They’re Cosmic

Monday, November 7, 2022


Of Tattoos and Stigmata

Sunday, November 6, 2022


The Problem with ‘Recreational’ Sex

Saturday, November 5, 2022


Advantages of Inflation

Friday, November 4, 2022


Listen to the Communion of Saints

Thursday, November 3, 2022


‘Tis the Season

Wednesday, November 2, 2022


From Here to Eternity

Tuesday, November 1, 2022


A Self-Destructive Synod

Monday, October 31, 2022


A Good Death

Sunday, October 30, 2022


Giorgia Meloni: ‘We are the heirs of St. Benedict’

Saturday, October 29, 2022


We Victims of ‘Victimless Crimes’

Friday, October 28, 2022


What’s Said, What’s Communicated

Thursday, October 27, 2022


The Color of Dinosaurs

Wednesday, October 26, 2022


What’s Really Needed for a “Eucharistic Revival”? 

Tuesday, October 25, 2022


Gender Ideology Comes to Notre Dame

Monday, October 24, 2022


The Disease and the Cure

Sunday, October 23, 2022


Religion For and Against America

Saturday, October 22, 2022


The Present Desolation

Friday, October 21, 2022


A National Study of Catholic Priests

Thursday, October 20, 2022


The Hard Labor of Christian Apologetics

Wednesday, October 19, 2022


Medieval ‘Reductio’ vs. Modern Reductivism

Tuesday, October 18, 2022


A Piecemeal Vatican III?

Monday, October 17, 2022