Columns Archives - The Catholic Thing


Doing Justice to St. Joseph (Part 2)

Tuesday, January 19, 2021


In Praise of Dispassion

Monday, January 18, 2021


Some Troubles in Dublin

Sunday, January 17, 2021


Saving Theodore McCarrick

Saturday, January 16, 2021


On Luxuries

Friday, January 15, 2021


Lockdowns: An Abortion Argument

Thursday, January 14, 2021


The Day After

Wednesday, January 13, 2021


Thoughts on a Late Administration

Tuesday, January 12, 2021


Another Sort of Reset

Monday, January 11, 2021


A Face

Sunday, January 10, 2021


Taste, Manners, Morals

Saturday, January 9, 2021


Martyrdom “in the Hands of God”

Friday, January 8, 2021


A Catholic Moment

Thursday, January 7, 2021


Not Selves, but Faces 

Wednesday, January 6, 2021


Catholicism and the Whole Truth

Tuesday, January 5, 2021


Hope against Hope

Monday, January 4, 2021


Lay Participation in Choosing Bishops?

Sunday, January 3, 2021


Halcyon Days

Saturday, January 2, 2021


The Church Fathers and the Mother of God

Friday, January 1, 2021


A Pastor on the Vaccines

Thursday, December 31, 2020


Twelve Days of Christmas for a Family Man on a Budget

Wednesday, December 30, 2020


Signs of Mind

Tuesday, December 29, 2020


Recovering the Theology of Creation

Monday, December 28, 2020


The Father We Need

Sunday, December 27, 2020


The Source of Art and Beauty

Saturday, December 26, 2020


Exult, All Christians!

Friday, December 25, 2020


Christmas in COVID-Time

Thursday, December 24, 2020


Making Room at the Inn

Wednesday, December 23, 2020


Doing Justice to St. Joseph

Tuesday, December 22, 2020


Diagnosing the Modern Self – and the Cure

Monday, December 21, 2020


The Silence of Christmas Markets

Sunday, December 20, 2020


Ferrari v. Ford: Which Kind of Worship?

Saturday, December 19, 2020


2020, in History

Friday, December 18, 2020


Death Isn’t a Person

Thursday, December 17, 2020


Rights Talk vs. Dialogue

Wednesday, December 16, 2020


The Magical World of “Climate Change”

Tuesday, December 15, 2020


The Church in Crisis

Monday, December 14, 2020


Savoring B&B During Advent

Sunday, December 13, 2020


A Man in Full

Saturday, December 12, 2020


Two Systems of Morality

Friday, December 11, 2020


Biden and the Bishops

Thursday, December 10, 2020


Memory and Gratitude

Wednesday, December 9, 2020


The Immaculate Conception and Mimetic Desire

Tuesday, December 8, 2020


Righteous Gentile

Monday, December 7, 2020


Glorifying God in your Body

Sunday, December 6, 2020


The Point of Greatest Fear

Saturday, December 5, 2020


Chronicles of Crazy

Friday, December 4, 2020


Money and the Idea of a University

Thursday, December 3, 2020


Biden and Communion

Wednesday, December 2, 2020


Reason, Revelation, and the American Regime

Tuesday, December 1, 2020