RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

2021 Archives - Page 2 of 6 - The Catholic Thing


What Ever Happened to the “Lay Moment”?

Thursday, August 26, 2021


Women of Character, Then and Now

Wednesday, August 25, 2021


Plow that Field

Tuesday, August 24, 2021


A Saint for the Times

Monday, August 23, 2021


Hard Sayings

Sunday, August 22, 2021


Motu Proprio Fatigue

Saturday, August 21, 2021


The Ninth Amendment’s Revolutionary Treasure Trove

Friday, August 20, 2021


A Cardinal and Bishop Who Get It

Thursday, August 19, 2021


A Shout Out to Mary

Wednesday, August 18, 2021


Red Scare: “Christ Crowned with Thorns”

Tuesday, August 17, 2021


Did Jesus Conquer Death?

Monday, August 16, 2021


Benedict on the Assumption

Sunday, August 15, 2021


The Church and Racial Questions

Saturday, August 14, 2021


What Does God Say?

Friday, August 13, 2021


Good as New

Thursday, August 12, 2021


Abraham’s Sacrifice

Wednesday, August 11, 2021


Boycott the China Winter Games

Tuesday, August 10, 2021


Summer Stillness

Monday, August 9, 2021


Love and Truth

Sunday, August 8, 2021


Learning from Romeo and Juliet

Saturday, August 7, 2021


An Excess of Christian Charity?

Friday, August 6, 2021


Citius. Altius. Fortius.

Thursday, August 5, 2021


How We Lost the Bible

Wednesday, August 4, 2021


Thoughts on the God-Man

Tuesday, August 3, 2021


From the First Three Minutes to Us

Monday, August 2, 2021


Costly Transfiguration

Sunday, August 1, 2021


Higher Education in a Different Key

Saturday, July 31, 2021


Popes Come and Go

Friday, July 30, 2021


What’s Done in Darkness Will Come to Light

Thursday, July 29, 2021


Those Disastrous Trade-Offs

Wednesday, July 28, 2021


Freedom, on a Mountain

Tuesday, July 27, 2021


Grandparents, Great-Grandparents, and the Great Tradition

Monday, July 26, 2021


Loaves, Fish, and Shepherds

Sunday, July 25, 2021


Eat the Disabled?  Follow the Science

Saturday, July 24, 2021


The Vague Grounds of “Systemic” Racism

Friday, July 23, 2021


Heresies of Presumption

Thursday, July 22, 2021


Backstories: “The Chosen”

Wednesday, July 21, 2021


Is This What the Church Needs Just Now?

Tuesday, July 20, 2021


Cardinal Mueller on the New TLM Restrictions

Monday, July 19, 2021


Our Lady Goes to War

Sunday, July 18, 2021


For Such a Time as This

Saturday, July 17, 2021


The Irrelevance of Josephus

Friday, July 16, 2021


Synodality Is What You Make of It

Thursday, July 15, 2021


Mission, Character, and Institutions

Wednesday, July 14, 2021


A Telling Moment, Foregone

Tuesday, July 13, 2021


The Strange Conversion of Wallace Stevens

Monday, July 12, 2021


All Systems Go, Part Two

Sunday, July 11, 2021


Race, Covenant, and Forgiveness

Saturday, July 10, 2021


On Not Being Thrown to the Lions

Friday, July 9, 2021


Dulce et Decorum Est

Thursday, July 8, 2021