Columns Archives - Page 2 of 82 - The Catholic Thing


The World and Its Lockdowns

Tuesday, April 14, 2020


The Third Day: a fantasy

Monday, April 13, 2020


By Hook and by Crook

Sunday, April 12, 2020


The King Sleeps

From an ancient homily for Holy Saturday

Saturday, April 11, 2020


None Was Equal to the Weight but God

Friday, April 10, 2020


The Pandemic and Repentance

Thursday, April 9, 2020


It’s Part of the Deal, Isn’t It?

Wednesday, April 8, 2020


Twisting our Language to Fit the Courts

Tuesday, April 7, 2020


Redeeming the Time

Monday, April 6, 2020


Palm Sunday without Palms

Sunday, April 5, 2020


A Call to Greatness

Saturday, April 4, 2020


A Golden Opportunity Lost

Friday, April 3, 2020


Unprecedented Times

Thursday, April 2, 2020


Justinian’s Flea, Redux

Wednesday, April 1, 2020


Ubi Petrus

Michael Pakaluk

Tuesday, March 31, 2020


Hitch and Jack in Isolation

Monday, March 30, 2020


“You Will See the Glory of God”

Sunday, March 29, 2020


Doing the Calculus: A Love Story

Saturday, March 28, 2020


Too Much Information

David Warren

Friday, March 27, 2020


False Allegations Are Rare – and Real

Thursday, March 26, 2020


Change the Model, Change the Virtue

Wednesday, March 25, 2020


The Virus – and Other Moral Hazards

Tuesday, March 24, 2020


Doing Nothing is Doing Something

Helen Freeh

Monday, March 23, 2020


Priests without People

Fr. Paul D. Scalia

Sunday, March 22, 2020


God and Hell (Part Two)

Saturday, March 21, 2020


Who Defines Fundamental Human Rights?

Friday, March 20, 2020


Our First Priority

Thursday, March 19, 2020


The Vandals in the Choir Loft

Wednesday, March 18, 2020


An Abundance of Caution

Tuesday, March 17, 2020


Ego Patricius: a Review of “I Am Patrick”

Monday, March 16, 2020


God and Hell

Sunday, March 15, 2020


“Why does the Church Hate Gay People?”

Saturday, March 14, 2020


Let’s Talk

Friday, March 13, 2020


Trauma and Taboo

Thursday, March 12, 2020


Feminism’s Unexpected Cure

Wednesday, March 11, 2020


A Day in the Senate with the Born-Alive Act

Tuesday, March 10, 2020


Plagues, Politics, Prayers

Monday, March 9, 2020


When Did the Church’s Moral Teaching Cease Being Relevant to You?

Sunday, March 8, 2020


Eyes to See

Saturday, March 7, 2020


Being on the “Right Side of History”

Friday, March 6, 2020


The Charter of the New Alliance of Virtue

Thursday, March 5, 2020


To Make All Things New

Wednesday, March 4, 2020


Yes, I’d Become Catholic Again

Tuesday, March 3, 2020


Lysenko at the Olympics

Monday, March 2, 2020


Juliek and His Violin

Sunday, March 1, 2020


James Martin S.J. Strikes Again

Saturday, February 29, 2020


The Policy of Legerdemain

Friday, February 28, 2020


Don’t Sanitize McCarrick’s Legacy

Thursday, February 27, 2020


Fasting in Body – and Mind – during Lent

Wednesday, February 26, 2020


Liberty and the Claims of Truth II

Tuesday, February 25, 2020