RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

In the News Archives - Page 2 of 87 - The Catholic Thing


Romero and Pope Paul VI: October saints

Monday, May 21, 2018


Today: Mary, Mother of the Church

Monday, May 21, 2018


CDF speaks on the economy

Friday, May 18, 2018


Church begins crisis mediation in Nicaragua

Friday, May 18, 2018


Paul VI thought of resigning too

Thursday, May 17, 2018


America’s first black priest closer to sainthood

Thursday, May 17, 2018


Pope again speaks of resignation

Wednesday, May 16, 2018


German prexy weighs in on inter-Communion

Wednesday, May 16, 2018


Iranian converts face 10 years in prison

Tuesday, May 15, 2018


Bishops pastoral letter on 50th anniversary of Humanae Vitae

Tuesday, May 15, 2018


German bishop: intercommunion requires consensus of whole Church

Monday, May 14, 2018


Is Google rigging Irish abortion vote?

Monday, May 14, 2018


Abide in Darkness: China scuttles Vatican hopes

Friday, May 11, 2018


Google bans ads for Irish abortion referendum

Friday, May 11, 2018


Bishops’ conference opposes ending Temporary Protected Status

Thursday, May 10, 2018


A world map of religion

Thursday, May 10, 2018


New book coming from Benedict XVI

Wednesday, May 9, 2018


New Vatican rules reveal priorities

Wednesday, May 9, 2018


The news from China and the Koreas

Tuesday, May 8, 2018


Commencement speakers 2018

Tuesday, May 8, 2018


Cdl. Mueller: More clarity and courage needed on Germany

Monday, May 7, 2018


Will Iowa ban abortion?

Friday, May 4, 2018


Episcopalians eliminate “husband” and “wife” from marriage vows

Friday, May 4, 2018


Priests’ appeal to bishops on “pastoral crisis”

Thursday, May 3, 2018


Canada to pope: apologize for abuse

Thursday, May 3, 2018


Cardinal Pell to stand trial on sex abuse

Wednesday, May 2, 2018


Janet Smith, fearless defender of Humanae Vitae

Wednesday, May 2, 2018


German bishops to meet in Vatican on intercommunion

Tuesday, May 1, 2018


Several Nicaraguan bishops back anti-government protests

Tuesday, May 1, 2018


Sharp increase in anti-Semitic attacks

Monday, April 30, 2018


Pope Francis: Heaven is not boring

Monday, April 30, 2018


German bishops’ letter on Communion for Protestant spouses

Friday, April 27, 2018


Religious persecution worsens

Friday, April 27, 2018


Ordinations in US down sharply

Thursday, April 26, 2018


Last-ditch effort to save Alfie fails

Thursday, April 26, 2018


Nuns lead fight on human trafficking

Wednesday, April 25, 2018


Disability groups slams assisted suicide bill

Wednesday, April 25, 2018


Second Mexican priest murdered

Tuesday, April 24, 2018


Europe risking demographic collapse

Tuesday, April 24, 2018


Chinese officials: don’t take children to Mass

Monday, April 23, 2018


A Catholic majority in Northern Ireland soon?

Monday, April 23, 2018


The pope and Pappy Van Winkle

Friday, April 20, 2018


Stanford Study: The Most Religious Kids Do Best In School

Friday, April 20, 2018


Report: Vatican rejects German intercommunion proposal

Thursday, April 19, 2018


Pope meets Alfie’s dad

Thursday, April 19, 2018


The most Catholic American cities

Wednesday, April 18, 2018


Deal or no with China?

Wednesday, April 18, 2018


Benedict XVI celebrates 91st

Tuesday, April 17, 2018


Syrian patriarchs condemn airstrikes

Tuesday, April 17, 2018


Pope on Syria, Alfie Evans

Monday, April 16, 2018