Catholicism Archives - The Catholic Thing


Books in Theology

Tuesday, February 20, 2024


The Severe Truth of Lent

Friday, February 16, 2024


‘I Changed My Mind’

Thursday, February 15, 2024


On the Sermon of an Agnostic

Wednesday, February 14, 2024


Memo to Tucho

Monday, February 12, 2024


Vacating Ottawa

Friday, February 9, 2024


Africa’s Rational ‘Prejudice’

Wednesday, February 7, 2024


Why Theology?

Tuesday, February 6, 2024


Healing and the Sabbath

Sunday, February 4, 2024


St. Blase and Blessings

Saturday, February 3, 2024


The Catholic Church and Anti-Racialism

Friday, February 2, 2024


The Office of the Bishop is to Admonish Sinners

Thursday, February 1, 2024


Toward a Eucharistic Education

Tuesday, January 30, 2024


Catholic Schools Week 2024: A Time for Re-Commitment

Monday, January 29, 2024


As One Having Authority

Sunday, January 28, 2024


Living Among the Heathens

Saturday, January 27, 2024


Personal Catholicism

Friday, January 26, 2024


Nature, Grace, and Plum Brandy

Thursday, January 25, 2024


Gay Blessings and the Perils of ‘Authenticity’

Wednesday, January 24, 2024


Untimely Reflections on ‘Hate’

Monday, January 22, 2024


Empire of Hope: A Review of ‘Cabrini’

Sunday, January 21, 2024


The Key to History

Saturday, January 20, 2024


A Provocative and Persuasive History of the Catholic Church

Friday, January 19, 2024


Multiple Texts Showing Cardinal Fernández’s ‘idée fixe’

Thursday, January 18, 2024


Skin in the Game

Wednesday, January 17, 2024


Faith, Rights, and Choice in Education

Tuesday, January 16, 2024


Can What’s Done be Undone?

Sunday, January 14, 2024


Young Wafflers and the “Culture of Commitment”

Saturday, January 13, 2024


After Desolation

Friday, January 12, 2024


The Complications of (Bad) Philosophy

Wednesday, January 10, 2024


‘To Think with the Church’

Monday, January 8, 2024


In Today’s Church, Who Is Evangelizing Whom?

Sunday, January 7, 2024


The True Meaning of Christmas

Saturday, January 6, 2024


Golden Opportunities Missed

Friday, January 5, 2024


Ghosts of Christmas Past

Thursday, January 4, 2024


The New Year: A User’s Guide

Wednesday, January 3, 2024


Where are the Good Guys?

Sunday, December 31, 2023


Saint Thomas Becket

Friday, December 29, 2023


The Holy Innocents

Thursday, December 28, 2023


Busyness and Christian Living

Wednesday, December 27, 2023


Why Can’t Every Day Be Like Christmas?

Tuesday, December 26, 2023


Mary’s Question

Sunday, December 24, 2023


On the Public Meaning of Priestly Blessings

Thursday, December 21, 2023


Finding Christ in the Noise

Wednesday, December 20, 2023


Are Catholic Colleges Catholic?

Monday, December 18, 2023


Remembering to Forget

Sunday, December 17, 2023


‘Forty Years I Endured That Generation’

Saturday, December 16, 2023


Veritas Liberabit Vos

Friday, December 15, 2023


‘Words Matter’

Thursday, December 14, 2023


‘The Only Truth on Earth’

Wednesday, December 13, 2023