RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

Jesus Christ Archives - The Catholic Thing


Accompanying Those Innocently in Error

Sunday, January 29, 2023


Repentance for Sin and Sacramental Absolution

Wednesday, January 25, 2023


Asking God for Things

Tuesday, January 24, 2023


Total Recall

Sunday, January 22, 2023


Life, By the Numbers, Revisited

Friday, January 20, 2023


Speakers of the Word

Sunday, January 15, 2023


‘In Principio,’ Not in Principle

Friday, January 13, 2023


December Thoughts, Then and Now

Thursday, December 29, 2022


The Gifts of the Holy Spirit

Tuesday, December 27, 2022


Black-Clad Lives Matter

Monday, December 26, 2022


A Proportioned Extravagance

Saturday, December 24, 2022


What Child Is This?

Friday, December 23, 2022


A New Encyclical on Contraception?

Monday, December 19, 2022


The ‘New Paradigm’ Can’t Deliver

Wednesday, December 14, 2022


Campion’s Reasons – And Ours

Tuesday, December 6, 2022


The Burden of Tradition

Sunday, December 4, 2022


Signs of Contradiction

Saturday, December 3, 2022


Having and Not Having

Monday, November 28, 2022


The Lord of History

Sunday, November 27, 2022


Welcoming the Stranger

Friday, November 25, 2022


Improving the Church

Wednesday, November 23, 2022


To Stay in the Fight

Monday, November 21, 2022


Joining Heaven with Earth

Sunday, November 13, 2022


The Wreck of Vatican II

Wednesday, November 9, 2022


Catholics at the Midterms

Tuesday, November 8, 2022


We’ve Got Issues – and They’re Cosmic

Monday, November 7, 2022


Of Tattoos and Stigmata

Sunday, November 6, 2022


Advantages of Inflation

Friday, November 4, 2022


Listen to the Communion of Saints

Thursday, November 3, 2022


From Here to Eternity

Tuesday, November 1, 2022


A Good Death

Sunday, October 30, 2022


What’s Said, What’s Communicated

Thursday, October 27, 2022


What’s Really Needed for a “Eucharistic Revival”? 

Tuesday, October 25, 2022


The Disease and the Cure

Sunday, October 23, 2022


The Present Desolation

Friday, October 21, 2022


Two Masses

Sunday, October 16, 2022


So What’s to Fear?

Monday, October 10, 2022


Thoughts on a Healthy Garden

Tuesday, October 4, 2022


A Eucharistic Faith

Monday, October 3, 2022


In the Fullness of Time

Wednesday, September 28, 2022


The “National Synthesis” on the Synod

Wednesday, September 21, 2022


On the Great Good Way

Monday, September 19, 2022


Understanding Bishop Robert Barron

Saturday, September 17, 2022


Of Feasts and Families

Wednesday, September 14, 2022


Of Mitzvot & Chivalry: Love in Deed

Friday, September 9, 2022


Rediscovering Our Union with Christ

Sunday, September 4, 2022


The Seriousness of Humor

Sunday, August 28, 2022


Throwing St. John Paul II Under the Bus

Saturday, August 13, 2022


On Not Losing Heart

Monday, August 8, 2022


Latin and God’s Holy People

Thursday, August 4, 2022