In the News Archives - The Catholic Thing


POTUS signs Genocide Relief Act

Friday, December 14, 2018


Church of England to celebrate transgenderism

Friday, December 14, 2018


Cdl. Pell found guilty of abuse, to appeal

Thursday, December 13, 2018


Three cardinals dropped from pope’s council

Thursday, December 13, 2018


Archbishop Gomez: Return to Guadalupe

Wednesday, December 12, 2018


Catholic philosopher Robert Spaemann dies at 91

Wednesday, December 12, 2018


Italian bishops approve new translation of Our Father

Wednesday, December 12, 2018


“Gay lobby” in Argentina

Tuesday, December 11, 2018


German party elects Catholic leader

Tuesday, December 11, 2018


Monk martyrs of “Of Gods and Men” beatified

Monday, December 10, 2018


SF “Mass of the Americas”

Monday, December 10, 2018


Facebook censors Santa/Jesus image

Friday, December 7, 2018


New legislation to govern Vatican

Friday, December 7, 2018


Amazon founder gives $15 million to Catholic Charities

Friday, December 7, 2018


Following Church teaching on business

Thursday, December 6, 2018


I found Christ – in my college library

Thursday, December 6, 2018


Pope to Jesuit college: Remember your origins

Wednesday, December 5, 2018


Catholic praise for President George H.W. Bush

Wednesday, December 5, 2018


Ukraine has “sacred duty” to defend against Russia

Tuesday, December 4, 2018


Cardinal attacks EWTN’s Raymond Arroyo

Tuesday, December 4, 2018


What the papal “paradigm shift” means

Tuesday, December 4, 2018


In new book, pope addresses homosexuality and clergy

Monday, December 3, 2018


Cdl. Mueller: spiritual renewal needed to face crisis

Monday, December 3, 2018


Second miracle for Newman

Friday, November 30, 2018


Offices of USCCB prexy raided

Friday, November 30, 2018


Free Catholic school tuition for Camp Fire children

Thursday, November 29, 2018


The achievements of Bishop Morlino

Thursday, November 29, 2018


Genetically edited babies?

Wednesday, November 28, 2018


Teaching character: in school and at home

Wednesday, November 28, 2018


Why was Cdl. O’Malley overlooked for abuse meeting?

Tuesday, November 27, 2018


Doctrine still a problem with SSPX

Tuesday, November 27, 2018


Madison’s Bishop Morlino, moral philosopher, dies

Monday, November 26, 2018


Life as an underground Chinese seminarian

Monday, November 26, 2018


Going red

Thursday, November 22, 2018


The meaning in life

Thursday, November 22, 2018


HHS revisiting fetal tissue funding

Wednesday, November 21, 2018


Pope dines with 1500 poor at Vatican

Tuesday, November 20, 2018


Dictator Pope author expelled from Order of Malta

Tuesday, November 20, 2018


Prayers for California

Monday, November 19, 2018


Cupich, Wuerl collaborated on alternative abuse proposal

Monday, November 19, 2018


Six new committee chairmen at USCCB

Friday, November 16, 2018


Pope Francis meets with Israeli president

Friday, November 16, 2018


Pope’s approval numbers plunge over abuse crisis

Thursday, November 15, 2018


Intense debate at US bishops’ meeting

Thursday, November 15, 2018


Who killed the USCCB vote?

Wednesday, November 14, 2018


Missouri bishops urge action anyway

Wednesday, November 14, 2018


Pope to visit Morocco

Wednesday, November 14, 2018


Trump Administration confirms exceptions to HHS contraceptive mandate

Tuesday, November 13, 2018


Vatican cancels U.S. bishops’ sex reform

Tuesday, November 13, 2018


What do Catholics expect of the USCCB this week?

Monday, November 12, 2018