RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

In the News Archives - The Catholic Thing


A worthy Amazonian initiative

Tuesday, August 20, 2019


“Unplanned” actress creates scholarship for pregnant women

Tuesday, August 20, 2019


Scranton Diocese investigating rector of national shrine

Monday, August 19, 2019


The company we keep

Monday, August 19, 2019


Pell appeal decision due next week

Friday, August 16, 2019


NYC mayor’s spouse: beyond parody

Friday, August 16, 2019


L.A.’s Gomez: white America is a “myth”

Thursday, August 15, 2019


Ontario euthanizes more than 700 in six months 

Thursday, August 15, 2019


Opinion on abortion’s legality unchanged

Wednesday, August 14, 2019


Cardinal Pell: the Church mustn’t sow confusion

Tuesday, August 13, 2019


Further anti-Christian decisions by China

Tuesday, August 13, 2019


The latest papal interview

Monday, August 12, 2019


Wanted: Better catechesis on the Eucharist

Monday, August 12, 2019


Argentine priests face trial for abuse

Friday, August 9, 2019


San Antonio archbishop recants

Friday, August 9, 2019


K of C announces new initiatives

Thursday, August 8, 2019


A symbol, not the Real Presence

Thursday, August 8, 2019


Iraqi Christians “close to extinction”

Wednesday, August 7, 2019


Midwest Jesuits appeal to Rome

Wednesday, August 7, 2019


Pope Francis urges priests to be faithful

Tuesday, August 6, 2019


Benedict XVI meets with dismissed professor

Tuesday, August 6, 2019


No sainthood for GKC

Monday, August 5, 2019


Pope prays for American shooting victims

Monday, August 5, 2019


New NY State law invites sex-abuse lawsuits

Friday, August 2, 2019


Polish archbishop condemns “worsening” Church attacks

Friday, August 2, 2019


New Jersey’s shame

Thursday, August 1, 2019


American at Vatican to handle abuse cases

Thursday, August 1, 2019


NIH restricts fetal tissue use

Wednesday, July 31, 2019


And now: Our Lady of the Transvestites?

Wednesday, July 31, 2019


The Catholic who now leads the House of Commons

Tuesday, July 30, 2019


Record heat wave threatens Notre Dame

Tuesday, July 30, 2019


Cardinal: Venezuela a “failed state”

Monday, July 29, 2019


Remembering Fr. Hamel

Monday, July 29, 2019


U.S. fertility rate hits all-time low

Friday, July 26, 2019


Catholic judge confirmed — finally

Friday, July 26, 2019


Nicaragua Church under assault

Thursday, July 25, 2019


Only 1/2 of US Catholics understand teaching on Communion

Thursday, July 25, 2019


Big questions persist on Vatican finances

Wednesday, July 24, 2019


St. Father Flanagan?

Wednesday, July 24, 2019


German churches losing members

Tuesday, July 23, 2019


Benedict XVI wanted then-Carinal Bergoglio as Secretary of State

Tuesday, July 23, 2019


Vatican announces Bransfield sanctions

Monday, July 22, 2019


Pope: Moon Landing Should Inspire “Even Greater Goals”

Monday, July 22, 2019


New director of Holy See press office

Friday, July 19, 2019


What Chinese Catholics think of the Vatican deal

Friday, July 19, 2019


Notre-Dame: What went wrong — and right

Thursday, July 18, 2019


Restrictions on religion growing worldwide

Thursday, July 18, 2019


Abortion politics crosses into Canada

Wednesday, July 17, 2019


Persecuted Christians: fewer words, more action

Wednesday, July 17, 2019


Argentines can’t help criticizing their pope

Tuesday, July 16, 2019