RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

In the News Archives - The Catholic Thing


Ordinations in freefall in Britain

Friday, December 2, 2022


Bishop Barron: USCCB “gravely disappointed” in marriage act

Friday, December 2, 2022


Christians now a minority in England

Thursday, December 1, 2022


Senate passes same-sex “marriage” bill

Thursday, December 1, 2022


Chinese leaders brief clergy on ‘Sinicization’

Wednesday, November 30, 2022


Pope defends himself on China and Russia

Wednesday, November 30, 2022


Cardinal, 63, dies three months after receiving red hat

Tuesday, November 29, 2022


Cardinal Sarah: ‘Religious liberty is under threat in the West’

Tuesday, November 29, 2022


Pope to ‘America’ magazine: women cannot be priests

Tuesday, November 29, 2022


Vatican publishes concerns about German Synodal Way

Monday, November 28, 2022


Vatican: China violated deal

Monday, November 28, 2022


Questions raised: Philadelphia hospital transgender surgeries on kids

Thursday, November 24, 2022


Pope links plight of Ukrainians today to Stalin’s ‘genocide’

Thursday, November 24, 2022


Vatican memos: Financial office risked becoming ‘a charade’

Wednesday, November 23, 2022


Pope Francis removes Caritas leaders

Wednesday, November 23, 2022


Vatican to Germans: Cease and desist! Germans: Nein!

Tuesday, November 22, 2022


Christians on the environment: stewardship v. skepticism

Tuesday, November 22, 2022


U.S. bishops make ‘the suffering of Lebanon’ priority

Monday, November 21, 2022


Former “gay” Albany bishop seeks laicization

Monday, November 21, 2022


German bishops meet with Pope Francis at the Vatican amid concern over Synodal Way

Friday, November 18, 2022


Bishops vote not to update Catholic voter guide

Friday, November 18, 2022


Vatican official: it’s important to be ‘realistic’ on engagement with China

Thursday, November 17, 2022


Old Latin Mass Finds New American Audience, Despite Pope’s Disapproval

Thursday, November 17, 2022


Archbishop Timothy Broglio next president of bishops’ conference

Wednesday, November 16, 2022


What to expect from the bishops’ meeting

Wednesday, November 16, 2022


Abortion Politics Loom Over U.S. Catholic Bishops’ Vote

Tuesday, November 15, 2022


Pope denounces ‘sirens of populism’

Tuesday, November 15, 2022


Pope meets with Fr. James Martin again

Monday, November 14, 2022


USCCB to vote on proposing three American women for sainthood

Monday, November 14, 2022


Former auditors sue the Vatican for $10 million

Friday, November 11, 2022


Pro-life advocates suffer defeat in 5 states

Friday, November 11, 2022


Religion under fire in Ukraine

Thursday, November 10, 2022


Outrage and despair in France at scale of abuse by bishops

Thursday, November 10, 2022


Colorado: no pro-life laws = many abortions

Wednesday, November 9, 2022


Bloomberg, Soros fund Michigan pro-aborts

Wednesday, November 9, 2022


Pope on plane: Pro-abort appointee brings ‘humanity’

Tuesday, November 8, 2022


Pope to French bishops:

Tuesday, November 8, 2022


Pope to youth in Bahrain: God not Google

Monday, November 7, 2022


Fr. Ian Ker: In memoriam (1942-2022)

Monday, November 7, 2022


Pope heads to Bahrain

Friday, November 4, 2022


Irish priest reprimanded by bishops for speaking of sin

Friday, November 4, 2022


Pope’s Bahrain trip raises concerns

Thursday, November 3, 2022


Detroit Archbishop: Vote no on Prop. 13

Thursday, November 3, 2022


Notre Dame U. In London gets Chesterton collection

Wednesday, November 2, 2022


Abortions down after ‘Dobbs’

Wednesday, November 2, 2022


U.S. Bishops to Congress: be in ‘radical solidarity’ with mothers, children

Tuesday, November 1, 2022


On the ‘Continental Stage’ of the Synod on Synodality

Tuesday, November 1, 2022


Dozens of Catholic villagers killed in Central Nigeria raid

Monday, October 31, 2022


Russia is willing to speak to pope about peace

Monday, October 31, 2022


Pope: Even nuns watch porn

Friday, October 28, 2022