2021 Archives - The Catholic Thing


From the First Three Minutes to Us

Monday, August 2, 2021


Costly Transfiguration

Sunday, August 1, 2021


Higher Education in a Different Key

Saturday, July 31, 2021


Popes Come and Go

Friday, July 30, 2021


What’s Done in Darkness Will Come to Light

Thursday, July 29, 2021


Those Disastrous Trade-Offs

Wednesday, July 28, 2021


Freedom, on a Mountain

Tuesday, July 27, 2021


Grandparents, Great-Grandparents, and the Great Tradition

Monday, July 26, 2021


Loaves, Fish, and Shepherds

Sunday, July 25, 2021


Eat the Disabled?  Follow the Science

Saturday, July 24, 2021


The Vague Grounds of “Systemic” Racism

Friday, July 23, 2021


Heresies of Presumption

Thursday, July 22, 2021


Backstories: “The Chosen”

Wednesday, July 21, 2021


Is This What the Church Needs Just Now?

Tuesday, July 20, 2021


Cardinal Mueller on the New TLM Restrictions

Monday, July 19, 2021


Our Lady Goes to War

Sunday, July 18, 2021


For Such a Time as This

Saturday, July 17, 2021


The Irrelevance of Josephus

Friday, July 16, 2021


Synodality Is What You Make of It

Thursday, July 15, 2021


Mission, Character, and Institutions

Wednesday, July 14, 2021


A Telling Moment, Foregone

Tuesday, July 13, 2021


The Strange Conversion of Wallace Stevens

Monday, July 12, 2021


All Systems Go, Part Two

Sunday, July 11, 2021


Race, Covenant, and Forgiveness

Saturday, July 10, 2021


On Not Being Thrown to the Lions

Friday, July 9, 2021


Dulce et Decorum Est

Thursday, July 8, 2021


A Modest Proposal for the Bishops’ Fall Meeting

Wednesday, July 7, 2021


Sueñitos

Tuesday, July 6, 2021


Liberty, License, Gratitude

Monday, July 5, 2021


From My Mother’s Womb, You Are My Strength

Sunday, July 4, 2021


Pastoral Incoherence

Saturday, July 3, 2021


Princess Di and the Madness of Crowds

Friday, July 2, 2021


Our Indefensible, Unsustainable Status Quo

Thursday, July 1, 2021


The Court to the Rescue Again? Not Quite

Wednesday, June 30, 2021


The Glory of Sts. Peter and Paul

Tuesday, June 29, 2021


A Little Clarity on Some Big Questions

Monday, June 28, 2021


Cultural or Intentional?

Sunday, June 27, 2021


The Breviary: Pray Constantly

Saturday, June 26, 2021


Anti-Racism: Original Sin Repackaged

Friday, June 25, 2021


Contraception and Our Abdication of Fatherhood

Thursday, June 24, 2021


A National Crime

Wednesday, June 23, 2021


That Ceiling in Rome

Tuesday, June 22, 2021


Our American Catholic Rubicon

Monday, June 21, 2021


The Church’s Real, and Perceived, Authority

Sunday, June 20, 2021


To Lower Our Nets

Saturday, June 19, 2021


Thoughts on the Great Escape

Friday, June 18, 2021


Language Barriers

Thursday, June 17, 2021


The Antidote to Social Despair

Wednesday, June 16, 2021


The Court:  Looking for the Low Door under the Wall

Tuesday, June 15, 2021


Dear Bishops: Clear Your Minds of Cant – and Can’t

Monday, June 14, 2021