2021 Archives - The Catholic Thing


Walking, Thinking, and Praying

Friday, December 3, 2021


Restoring Trust after the Abuse Crisis

Thursday, December 2, 2021


Not the Pleasantly Social, but the Truth

Wednesday, December 1, 2021


Pornography and the Castration of Young Men

Tuesday, November 30, 2021


Return on Investment

Monday, November 29, 2021


Blessed Are the Woke of Heart

Sunday, November 28, 2021


Striking Out in Baltimore

Saturday, November 27, 2021


Gratitude, Expectation, and Advent

Friday, November 26, 2021


Getting Thanksgiving Right – Redux

Thursday, November 25, 2021


The 1621 Project

Wednesday, November 24, 2021


A Luminous Life of Benedict

Tuesday, November 23, 2021


The Last Acceptable Prejudice

Monday, November 22, 2021


The Bishops’ Bind and Their Cross

Sunday, November 21, 2021


Our Fear of the Real

Saturday, November 20, 2021


Dignity and Distance

Friday, November 19, 2021


A Beginning by the Bishops, Not the End

Thursday, November 18, 2021


Dear Bishops, Ban Them

Wednesday, November 17, 2021


Pledging Allegiance to the New McCarthyism

Tuesday, November 16, 2021


The Curse of Meetings

Monday, November 15, 2021


To Love the Church

Sunday, November 14, 2021


As the Bishops Meet in Baltimore

Saturday, November 13, 2021


A Word or Two about Heresy

Friday, November 12, 2021


A Candle for Roger

Thursday, November 11, 2021


Happy Birthday, Immortal One

Wednesday, November 10, 2021


Homosexuality in Scripture

Tuesday, November 9, 2021


Sustaining the Catholic “Thing”

Monday, November 8, 2021


Understanding Mortal Sin

Sunday, November 7, 2021


What Is a Chaplain?   

Saturday, November 6, 2021


On Wanting More: A Philosophical-Theological Potpourri

Friday, November 5, 2021


Who Benefits from the Status Quo?

Thursday, November 4, 2021


The Pope and the President

Wednesday, November 3, 2021


Why No Science?

Tuesday, November 2, 2021


Of All Saints and All Souls

Monday, November 1, 2021


Aquinas on Contemplating Scripture

Sunday, October 31, 2021


“The Memory of Our Dead”

Saturday, October 30, 2021


As the Gods Awaken

Friday, October 29, 2021


Judas Received Communion – Should Biden?

Thursday, October 28, 2021


The Pursuit of Happiness

Wednesday, October 27, 2021


Praying for the Pope

Tuesday, October 26, 2021


Ever Ancient, Ever New

Monday, October 25, 2021


Knowledge That Blinds

Sunday, October 24, 2021


Our Cultural Confusions about Men and Women

Saturday, October 23, 2021


Satan Loves “Safety”

Friday, October 22, 2021


Rome Remembers

Thursday, October 21, 2021


Whither the Synod on Synods?

Wednesday, October 20, 2021


Prudent to Pray: 007’s Latest

Tuesday, October 19, 2021


Cry Havoc! Threats to Right-to-Life Groups

Monday, October 18, 2021


The Sexual Revolution and the Fall of ‘Roe’

Sunday, October 17, 2021


Authentic Reform, without Schism

Saturday, October 16, 2021


The Tragedy of an Opportunity Missed

Friday, October 15, 2021