RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

Commentary Archives - The Catholic Thing


Bishop Barron corrects AOC

Tuesday, August 4, 2020


Mayor Pete at Notre Dame

Tuesday, August 4, 2020


Our appetite for destruction

Monday, August 3, 2020


Waugh on Knox

Friday, July 31, 2020


SOS: Save Our Schools

Friday, July 31, 2020


Catholics: practicing and out of practice

Thursday, July 30, 2020


Manzoni speaks on speaking ill

Wednesday, July 29, 2020


The triumph of truth

Wednesday, July 29, 2020


Belloc Night

Tuesday, July 28, 2020


Regis Philbin: 1931-2020

Monday, July 27, 2020


McCarrick virus still infects us

Monday, July 27, 2020


Why do young people leave the Church?

Friday, July 24, 2020


Shocking Vatican view of COVID-19

Friday, July 24, 2020


Wheat and tares, saints and frauds

Thursday, July 23, 2020


Erdoğan’s game

Thursday, July 23, 2020


Toppling Lincoln, then MLK

Wednesday, July 22, 2020


Experts: hypocrisy and lies

Wednesday, July 22, 2020


We need Catholic schools

Tuesday, July 21, 2020


B16 on the reality of sacraments

Tuesday, July 21, 2020


The wheat and the tares

Monday, July 20, 2020


Jackie Robinson’s moral greatness

Monday, July 20, 2020


The problem of “no time”

Friday, July 17, 2020


Cardinal Henri de Lubac and paradox

Wednesday, July 15, 2020


Politics cannot save us

Wednesday, July 15, 2020


China-Vatican accord, Part II

Tuesday, July 14, 2020


Not peace but a sword

Tuesday, July 14, 2020


Dogma frees, relativism enslaves

Monday, July 13, 2020


Hong Kong, religious freedom, and Catholic responsibility

Monday, July 13, 2020


School choice clears a hurdle

Friday, July 10, 2020


Chief Justice Roberts: a glass half-full?

Friday, July 10, 2020


SCOTUS backs religious freedom

Thursday, July 9, 2020


A proposal: Publish the China Vatican agreement

Wednesday, July 8, 2020


Pope isolated, hampered by pandemic

Wednesday, July 8, 2020


Robert Reilly’s “America on Trial”

Tuesday, July 7, 2020


Drowning in academic BS

Tuesday, July 7, 2020


A Godless Great Awakening

Monday, July 6, 2020


Liberty and how to use it

Monday, July 6, 2020


Will Rust-Belt Catholics back Trump?

Friday, July 3, 2020


Cathedral thinking

Thursday, July 2, 2020


COVID-19 and religious freedom

Thursday, July 2, 2020


How civilizations rise and fall

Wednesday, July 1, 2020


Statues and symbolic murder

Wednesday, July 1, 2020


Viganò contra Benedict

Tuesday, June 30, 2020


Racism real and false

Tuesday, June 30, 2020


Archbishop Carlo Maria Viganò interview

Monday, June 29, 2020


Assisi confab about “pathological economy”

Monday, June 29, 2020


Activism without principles

Friday, June 26, 2020


Either you’re a saint – or you ain’t

Friday, June 26, 2020


Defund the thought police

Thursday, June 25, 2020


McCarrick, Mary, and JPII

Thursday, June 25, 2020