Commentary Archives - The Catholic Thing


Assessing the Vatican-China deal

Tuesday, October 23, 2018


On Vigano’s third letter

Tuesday, October 23, 2018


Nuns on the run

Tuesday, October 23, 2018


The crisis of the Church under Francis

Monday, October 22, 2018


St. JPII’s challenge for the Synod

Monday, October 22, 2018


A false paradigm

Friday, October 19, 2018


What kind of archbishop does DC need now?

Friday, October 19, 2018


The righting the Barque of Peter

Thursday, October 18, 2018


Argentina must not backdown

Thursday, October 18, 2018


Should lay people investigate cardinals?

Wednesday, October 17, 2018


All are welcome – to what exactly?

Wednesday, October 17, 2018


Francis and the tangle of abuse

Tuesday, October 16, 2018


Priesthood: Forsaking and receiving

Tuesday, October 16, 2018


Papal homily at canonization Mass

Monday, October 15, 2018


Is the Synod a class war?

Monday, October 15, 2018


Pope Francis has “his” Synod

Friday, October 12, 2018


Cdl. Sarah on “The Spirit of the Liturgy”

Friday, October 12, 2018


Why Cdl. Cupich is wrong

Thursday, October 11, 2018


On (righteous) anger

Thursday, October 11, 2018


The Vatican’s confusion

Wednesday, October 10, 2018


Did Communist Chinese appoint two synod bishops?

Wednesday, October 10, 2018


Young people and the Latin Mass

Tuesday, October 9, 2018


Madness in the Senate gallery

Tuesday, October 9, 2018


Call the crisis by its right name: homosexuality

Monday, October 8, 2018


The pope and the accusers

Monday, October 8, 2018


What to do about Church corruption?

Friday, October 5, 2018


The “Red Hat Report”

Friday, October 5, 2018


Why this may the most important synod of all

Thursday, October 4, 2018


Why Kavanaugh so riles the Left

Thursday, October 4, 2018


A nation of snowflakes

Wednesday, October 3, 2018


Bishops who may make a difference

Wednesday, October 3, 2018


The cosmic battle between good and evil

Tuesday, October 2, 2018


An exchange on the Youth Synod

Monday, October 1, 2018


Bishops vs. everybody?

Monday, October 1, 2018


How the China deal betrays Vatican II

Friday, September 28, 2018


Roe v. Wade and the Kavanaugh hearings

Friday, September 28, 2018


Pondering proverbs

Thursday, September 27, 2018


Cardinal Newman on the current crisis

Thursday, September 27, 2018


Women beware women

Wednesday, September 26, 2018


Will China now turn Protestant?

Wednesday, September 26, 2018


The curious case of Fr. Kalchik

Tuesday, September 25, 2018


The trouble with China

Tuesday, September 25, 2018


Exorcise the demons

Monday, September 24, 2018


The Synod agenda is off-base

Monday, September 24, 2018


China’s war on Christianity

Friday, September 21, 2018


The problem of scandal

Friday, September 21, 2018


For peace in a world of woe

Thursday, September 20, 2018


The great emergency

Thursday, September 20, 2018


The latest twists in the crisis

Wednesday, September 19, 2018


Spiritual paternity, anger, lying

Wednesday, September 19, 2018