Commentary Archives - The Catholic Thing


More McCarrick accusers

Monday, October 21, 2019


The economics of marriage

Monday, October 21, 2019


Abortion again before the Court

Friday, October 18, 2019


A priest discovers celibacy

Friday, October 18, 2019


Fr. Scalia on Cdl. Sarah

Thursday, October 17, 2019


When the Church triumphs

Thursday, October 17, 2019


The mystery of the security chief’s resignation

Wednesday, October 16, 2019


Pendulum swings

Wednesday, October 16, 2019


Newman’s idea of a university

Tuesday, October 15, 2019


On things worth dying for

Tuesday, October 15, 2019


St. John Henry Newman would nix married priests

Monday, October 14, 2019


The would pile

Monday, October 14, 2019


Newman nixes Nietzsche

Friday, October 11, 2019


Ages light and Dark

Friday, October 11, 2019


Canines and cats but not kids

Thursday, October 10, 2019


The state of the Church in Germany

Thursday, October 10, 2019


The spirit of timidity

Wednesday, October 9, 2019


Disputed teachings of Vatican II

Tuesday, October 8, 2019


Cdl. Ouellet on dangers in synod and Germany

Tuesday, October 8, 2019


For a firm faith

Monday, October 7, 2019


Pope Francis seeks “daring prudence”

Monday, October 7, 2019


Restoring balance in the “separation”

Friday, October 4, 2019


Not ordaining women not a dogma

Friday, October 4, 2019


Man is not an intruder in Creation

Thursday, October 3, 2019


Chaput, a model bishop

Thursday, October 3, 2019


The decline of the Church in Europe

Wednesday, October 2, 2019


“Born that way” no more

Wednesday, October 2, 2019


Eberstadt on identity politics

Tuesday, October 1, 2019


The puzzling German gambit

Tuesday, October 1, 2019


The death of St. Vincent de Paul

Monday, September 30, 2019


A German attack on Christ’s Lordship

Monday, September 30, 2019


Three cardinals rebuff Amazon Synod

Friday, September 27, 2019


Newman’s simplicity

Thursday, September 26, 2019


Hijacking the JPII Institute

Wednesday, September 25, 2019


Narcissistic theology

Wednesday, September 25, 2019


Relearning the truth about conscience

Tuesday, September 24, 2019


The devils of Manhattan

Tuesday, September 24, 2019


Fr. James Martin and Catholic beliefs

Friday, September 20, 2019


Pew survey shows mixed feelings about religious leaders

Friday, September 20, 2019


The Hundredfold

Thursday, September 19, 2019


Germany, real threat of schism

Thursday, September 19, 2019


A tale of two synods

Wednesday, September 18, 2019


Protests in Hong Kong, silence in the Vatican

Wednesday, September 18, 2019


Meeting a guardian angel

Tuesday, September 17, 2019


Catholics debating liberalism

Tuesday, September 17, 2019


Slow road to schism

Monday, September 16, 2019


Pope’s critics are not just Americans

Monday, September 16, 2019


Not afraid of schism?

Friday, September 13, 2019


Concerning B*** S***

Friday, September 13, 2019


A passive-aggressive papacy

Thursday, September 12, 2019