Commentary Archives - The Catholic Thing


So long, Cardinal Wuerl

Thursday, May 23, 2019


Abolish the priesthood?

Thursday, May 23, 2019


The crisis continues

Wednesday, May 22, 2019


Ignoring pro-life women

Wednesday, May 22, 2019


Convocations and “Coming out”

Tuesday, May 21, 2019


Gillibrand: GA abortion ban un-Christian

Tuesday, May 21, 2019


Church in Chile shocked over abuse crisis

Monday, May 20, 2019


ND students against porn

Monday, May 20, 2019


John Rist, why I signed the heresy letter

Friday, May 17, 2019


To have a “renewed” mind

Friday, May 17, 2019


Confession is sacred

Thursday, May 16, 2019


Bishop Barron: Don’t leave, fight!

Thursday, May 16, 2019


The abortion endgame?

Wednesday, May 15, 2019


The new Vatican abuse guidelines and “vulnerability”

Wednesday, May 15, 2019


Women: Stop trying to have sex like men

Tuesday, May 14, 2019


Supreme Court Session Includes Key Cases for Catholics

Tuesday, May 14, 2019


Tough loves

Monday, May 13, 2019


How to respond to declining faith

Monday, May 13, 2019


Leonardo, the real Da Vinci Code

Friday, May 10, 2019


Despite reform, curia remains governing apparatus

Friday, May 10, 2019


Benedict’s letter widened scope of abuse investigations

Thursday, May 9, 2019


A practical agenda for Catholics

Thursday, May 9, 2019


Diplomacy and persecution in China

Wednesday, May 8, 2019


Catholics react to Open Letter accusing Pope Francis of heresy

Wednesday, May 8, 2019


A new edition of Newman’s essays

Tuesday, May 7, 2019


They’re children, not problems

Tuesday, May 7, 2019


Curial reform: Headed for disaster?

Monday, May 6, 2019


Is the pope a heretic?

Monday, May 6, 2019


Faithfulness in small things a great thing

Friday, May 3, 2019


The good news

Friday, May 3, 2019


On prayer on the National Day of Prayer

Thursday, May 2, 2019


On Marian veneration

Thursday, May 2, 2019


God and man in an age of disbelief

Wednesday, May 1, 2019


Sri Lankan attacks may reverse papal efforts

Wednesday, May 1, 2019


The “superdicastery for evangelization: Not a good idea

Tuesday, April 30, 2019


Terrible pope, patron of genius

Tuesday, April 30, 2019


Benedict and his critics

Monday, April 29, 2019


Benedict XVI and resistance to the world gone mad

Monday, April 29, 2019


4 lessons from the 20th century

Friday, April 26, 2019


On political correctness gone mad

Friday, April 26, 2019


Clinton, Obama and “Easter worshippers”

Thursday, April 25, 2019


Christians: privileged or persecuted?

Thursday, April 25, 2019


A hard saying from the Risen Jesus

Wednesday, April 24, 2019


Desecrations in France

Wednesday, April 24, 2019


God chose us for this moment

Tuesday, April 23, 2019


Notre Dame will have its Easter

Tuesday, April 23, 2019


The BBC and the MSM’s religious ignorance

Thursday, April 18, 2019


A fracture between the two popes

Thursday, April 18, 2019


Is Archbishop Gregory the truth teller DC needs?

Wednesday, April 17, 2019


The problems with B16’s essay

Tuesday, April 16, 2019