RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

Commentary Archives - The Catholic Thing


Correcting Father Martin

Monday, February 19, 2018


Paul VI to be canonized in 2018

Monday, February 19, 2018


Cupich and conscience

Friday, February 16, 2018


On Catholic women

Friday, February 16, 2018


The clarity of Cardinal Cupich

Thursday, February 15, 2018


Schall on classical education

Thursday, February 15, 2018


Anglicans, Lutherans, snake-handlers

Wednesday, February 14, 2018


Cdl. Zen: I still don’t understand Vatican/China

Wednesday, February 14, 2018


Bishop to ND: “I strongly disagree”

Tuesday, February 13, 2018


Ash Wednesday, the basics

Tuesday, February 13, 2018


B16’s abdication, five years later

Monday, February 12, 2018


Who made Xi Jinping pope

Monday, February 12, 2018


A plan for Lent

Monday, February 12, 2018


Eternal Rome

Friday, February 9, 2018


Religious liberty and U.S. foreign policy

Friday, February 9, 2018


Cdl. Marx: no rules?

Thursday, February 8, 2018


Vatican official says HV commission is real

Thursday, February 8, 2018


Rome’s diplomacy in China contradict Vatican II

Wednesday, February 7, 2018


Charity, clarity, and their opposite

Wednesday, February 7, 2018


Memory, sex, true manhood

Tuesday, February 6, 2018


Crumbling papal foundations?

Tuesday, February 6, 2018


Did Cdl. Marx advocate blessing gay unions?

Monday, February 5, 2018


In Memoriam, Germain Grisez

Monday, February 5, 2018


The BXVI resignation, five years later

Friday, February 2, 2018


Let’s name pro-abort Catholics in Congress

Thursday, February 1, 2018


“Clarification” on China makes things worse

Thursday, February 1, 2018


New Catholic art can be beautiful

Wednesday, January 31, 2018


Francis’ misuse of terms points to other questions

Wednesday, January 31, 2018


Interview with Ukrainian Catholic archbishop

Tuesday, January 30, 2018


Cardinal Zen speaks on Chinese persecution

Tuesday, January 30, 2018


Japan’s demographic time bomb

Monday, January 29, 2018


Is Latin America still Catholic?

Friday, January 26, 2018


Reading Augustine

Thursday, January 25, 2018


Did O’Malley open the door for papal criticism?

Thursday, January 25, 2018


Why the pro-life movement will prosper

Wednesday, January 24, 2018


A papal disaster in Chile

Wednesday, January 24, 2018


Fit or unfit to receive

Tuesday, January 23, 2018


The pope wants your . . . opinion

Tuesday, January 23, 2018


Purity and prejudice

Monday, January 22, 2018


Science boosting pro-life movement

Monday, January 22, 2018


Thoughts on a mid-air papal marriage

Friday, January 19, 2018


Catholics, obsessed with life -not sex

Friday, January 19, 2018


Eminem and Gandhi are right

Friday, January 19, 2018


“Ecclesial reception” in the Francis era

Thursday, January 18, 2018


Test your conscience

Thursday, January 18, 2018


On popes, Sacred Tradition, and the Word of God

Wednesday, January 17, 2018


On Jesus and bending the law

Wednesday, January 17, 2018


Pope Francis and ideology

Tuesday, January 16, 2018


Saint and scribe

Tuesday, January 16, 2018


Recovering Latin

Monday, January 15, 2018