Commentary Archives - The Catholic Thing


The surprising legacy of Archbishop Lefebvre

Friday, June 22, 2018


McCarrick: when did the Vatican know?

Friday, June 22, 2018


The West is rediscovering the sacred

Friday, June 22, 2018


Why is Rome sidelining Ukrainian church?

Thursday, June 21, 2018


McCarrick story: long time coming – and not the only one

Thursday, June 21, 2018


Why be Catholic?

Wednesday, June 20, 2018


Wanted: a Catholic immigration reform

Wednesday, June 20, 2018


Did Jesus forbid self-defense?

Tuesday, June 19, 2018


Vatican: worldwide crisis of vocations

Tuesday, June 19, 2018


Time is running out in Iraq

Monday, June 18, 2018


The religious, routed in Ireland and Canada

Monday, June 18, 2018


The progressive attack on early Christianity

Friday, June 15, 2018


Compulsory abortion in Ireland

Friday, June 15, 2018


Heavenly Bodies, Holy Practices

Thursday, June 14, 2018


What the Church must learn from the Barros affair

Thursday, June 14, 2018


Mary Eberstadt on #MeToo: An interview

Wednesday, June 13, 2018


Life lessons from Leo XIII

Wednesday, June 13, 2018


Stories of abortion — rejected

Tuesday, June 12, 2018


Abortion is racist

Tuesday, June 12, 2018


Pope’s letter to Chileans disappointing and insufficient

Monday, June 11, 2018


The pope’s reversal on German intercommunion

Monday, June 11, 2018


The return of the king

Friday, June 8, 2018


Why marriage is in crisis

Friday, June 8, 2018


Europe’s vanishing calm

Friday, June 8, 2018


Lessons from the past

Thursday, June 7, 2018


Pandering isn’t evangelization

Thursday, June 7, 2018


RFK’s assassination at 50

Wednesday, June 6, 2018


Next pro-life battle: Northern Ireland

Wednesday, June 6, 2018


Intercommunion hurts Catholic-Orthodox amity

Tuesday, June 5, 2018


Is Spain lost too?

Tuesday, June 5, 2018


Corpus Christi

Monday, June 4, 2018


Priesthood and celibacy

Monday, June 4, 2018


A Biblical meditation on aging

Friday, June 1, 2018


ND confusion on contraception

Thursday, May 31, 2018


Why was the pope silent on the Irish vote?

Thursday, May 31, 2018


The Rome we have lost- and gained

Wednesday, May 30, 2018


The Druids return to Ireland

Wednesday, May 30, 2018


Ireland and the end of cultural Catholicism

Tuesday, May 29, 2018


Ireland: an Obituary

Tuesday, May 29, 2018


The Trinity: A Mystery, not a puzzle

Tuesday, May 29, 2018


Pope’s choice of cardinals hard to figure

Monday, May 28, 2018


Why such strong hatred for the Church?

Monday, May 28, 2018


The pope’s “quiet revolution”

Friday, May 25, 2018


Royal wedding sermon left something out

Friday, May 25, 2018


What happens in Germany . . .

Thursday, May 24, 2018


Vatican mysteries: the pope and Chile – and Venezuela

Thursday, May 24, 2018


A “shadow magisterium”?

Wednesday, May 23, 2018


Pope Francis and the Chilean bishops crisis

Wednesday, May 23, 2018


What dismissing prayer after tragedies says about us

Tuesday, May 22, 2018


Ireland’s momentous abortion referendum

Tuesday, May 22, 2018