Commentary Archives - The Catholic Thing


Biden: Our first trans president

Wednesday, January 27, 2021


Homily: A very sad week for our nation

Wednesday, January 27, 2021


Will the Church pass the Biden test?

Tuesday, January 26, 2021


Biden and the Equality Act

Tuesday, January 26, 2021


USCCB policies don’t support Cupich rebuke

Monday, January 25, 2021


Pres. Biden: Speak to the March for Life

Monday, January 25, 2021


Pelosi is wrong

Sunday, January 24, 2021


Teach the Faith – or Biden will

Friday, January 22, 2021


Pres. Biden and a Catholic inflection point

Friday, January 22, 2021


I believe in the Devil

Thursday, January 21, 2021


Dostoyevsky: Philosopher of freedom

Thursday, January 21, 2021


7 remedies for a house divided

Wednesday, January 20, 2021


A defense of Christian humanism

Wednesday, January 20, 2021


Peace at a difficult moment

Tuesday, January 19, 2021


Affirmations for America’s future

Tuesday, January 19, 2021


How Catholics can heal divisions

Monday, January 18, 2021


Picture of a prophet

Monday, January 18, 2021


Who should you help?

Friday, January 15, 2021


Ratzinger in full

Friday, January 15, 2021


Confusion twice confounded

Thursday, January 14, 2021


Followers or admirers of Christ?

Thursday, January 14, 2021


Biden’s promise to “codify” Roe v. Wade

Wednesday, January 13, 2021


Are we educating for freedom?

Wednesday, January 13, 2021


Arch. Gomez: Who are we as Americans?

Tuesday, January 12, 2021


The pope’s “phony synodality”

Tuesday, January 12, 2021


No sympathy for the Devil

Monday, January 11, 2021


JPII. . .and Tommy LaSorda

Monday, January 11, 2021


Cdl. Dolan: Bigots defaced St. Patrick’s

Friday, January 8, 2021


Eucharistic integrity

Friday, January 8, 2021


Mass in COVID Time

Thursday, January 7, 2021


Biden’s Abortion D-Day

Thursday, January 7, 2021


The improvisational pontiff

Wednesday, January 6, 2021


Benedict warned us

Tuesday, January 5, 2021


Resolution

Tuesday, January 5, 2021


The Journey of the Magi

Monday, January 4, 2021


Religious liberty dispute in 2021?

Monday, January 4, 2021


What the Magi teach us

Thursday, December 24, 2020


The lonely Church

Thursday, December 24, 2020


Advent ends with promise and warning

Wednesday, December 23, 2020


“White Christmas” isn’t Christmas

Wednesday, December 23, 2020


Covid vaccines and Catholic bioethics

Monday, December 21, 2020


Learning from the O Antiphons

Monday, December 21, 2020


St. Joseph and all dads

Saturday, December 19, 2020


“Cages cannot lock up souls”

Friday, December 18, 2020


Monsters, monks, Star Wars,

Thursday, December 17, 2020


Who is the Good Samaritan?

Thursday, December 17, 2020


Anti-religious bigots and church vandalism

Wednesday, December 16, 2020


Pope censored when speaking about abortion

Tuesday, December 15, 2020


Christmas can’t be canceled

Tuesday, December 15, 2020


Mary and Muslim conversion

Monday, December 14, 2020