Commentary Archives - The Catholic Thing


What is eternal life?

Tuesday, November 19, 2019


The Pachamama Rohrs

Tuesday, November 19, 2019


Rebuilding Notre Dame de Paris: controversies

Monday, November 18, 2019


Aussie view on Pell changing?

Monday, November 18, 2019


A satirical essay

Friday, November 15, 2019


Thinking like Christ

Friday, November 15, 2019


McCarrick central to controversial Vatican grant

Friday, November 15, 2019


The “synodality” masquerade

Thursday, November 14, 2019


Restoring public civility

Thursday, November 14, 2019


You will die – and don’t know when

Thursday, November 14, 2019


Nuncio hits U.S. bishops

Wednesday, November 13, 2019


The China-Vatican agreement, 1-year later

Wednesday, November 13, 2019


American kids not reading

Tuesday, November 12, 2019


The media war on religious freedom

Tuesday, November 12, 2019


Who’s your Pachamama?

Monday, November 11, 2019


Cdl. Burke: “I’m not the pope’s enemy”

Monday, November 11, 2019


McCarrick central to controversial Vatican grant

Friday, November 8, 2019


Classics, Christianity, and the alt-right

Friday, November 8, 2019


Unfinished business

Thursday, November 7, 2019


Pontifical Academy of Sciences Embraces UN’s ‘Sustainable Development’

Thursday, November 7, 2019


Our Kingdom, where?

Wednesday, November 6, 2019


Why I Threw Pachamama into the Tiber

Wednesday, November 6, 2019


Our Kingdom, where?

Wednesday, November 6, 2019


A false view of doctrinal development

Tuesday, November 5, 2019


Reading the signs of the times

Tuesday, November 5, 2019


The man in the sycamore tree

Monday, November 4, 2019


Our North American Martyrs

Monday, November 4, 2019


London exorcist on Satan

Friday, November 1, 2019


All Saints and holiness

Friday, November 1, 2019


Six points in search of a Apostolic Exhortation

Thursday, October 31, 2019


James Martin, S.J., libertarian

Thursday, October 31, 2019


America loves Newman

Wednesday, October 30, 2019


The end of celibacy?

Wednesday, October 30, 2019


A post-synodal reflection

Tuesday, October 29, 2019


Pray for a miracle

Tuesday, October 29, 2019


The Real Presence is real

Monday, October 28, 2019


Correcting Fr. James Martin

Monday, October 28, 2019


Fr. Martin’s ambiguities

Friday, October 25, 2019


The crisis of Catholic leadership

Friday, October 25, 2019


Vatican: missing pastoral sense about images

Thursday, October 24, 2019


Hijacking John XXIII

Thursday, October 24, 2019


Dark Days in Ulster

Wednesday, October 23, 2019


Tiber incident was not a stunt

Wednesday, October 23, 2019


A catacomb pact

Tuesday, October 22, 2019


Understanding Scalfari and Francis

Tuesday, October 22, 2019


More McCarrick accusers

Monday, October 21, 2019


The economics of marriage

Monday, October 21, 2019


Abortion again before the Court

Friday, October 18, 2019


A priest discovers celibacy

Friday, October 18, 2019


Fr. Scalia on Cdl. Sarah

Thursday, October 17, 2019