Commentary Archives - The Catholic Thing


On loyal gentlemen

Friday, December 14, 2018


Robert Spaemann, the last great Catholic philosopher

Friday, December 14, 2018


Pope: “Gay” mentality un-Catholic

Thursday, December 13, 2018


With fife and drum

Thursday, December 13, 2018


Does saying “Merry Christmas” matter?

Wednesday, December 12, 2018


Religious freedom 2, Obamacare 0

Wednesday, December 12, 2018


The pope’s warnings about homosexuals in the clergy

Tuesday, December 11, 2018


A short defense of authentic synodality

Tuesday, December 11, 2018


Mary, Did You Know? Um, yes.

Monday, December 10, 2018


What NOT to expect from the Vatican summit

Monday, December 10, 2018


Rewarding China’s despotism

Friday, December 7, 2018


From Uncle Fultie to Uncle Ted

Friday, December 7, 2018


Avoiding another fiasco in February

Thursday, December 6, 2018


Missing the story on abortion decline

Thursday, December 6, 2018


St. Paul and “the mystery of evil”

Wednesday, December 5, 2018


Advent is the remedy for the crisis

Tuesday, December 4, 2018


Shakespeare’s pro-Catholic broadside

Tuesday, December 4, 2018


The bomb, the pill, and false security

Monday, December 3, 2018


Angels of Advent

Monday, December 3, 2018


Getting seminary formation right

Friday, November 30, 2018


February meeting as damage control?

Friday, November 30, 2018


Against empathy

Thursday, November 29, 2018


Trust Harvard?

Thursday, November 29, 2018


Cardinal Müller in . . . retirement

Wednesday, November 28, 2018


A transitioning culture

Wednesday, November 28, 2018


Defending the Church’s commitment to reality

Tuesday, November 27, 2018


Some hard truths about transgenders

Tuesday, November 27, 2018


The hour of the wolf

Monday, November 26, 2018


Who, or what, rules my life?

Monday, November 26, 2018


I Think Therefore I Thank

Thursday, November 22, 2018


Agreement with China looking even worse

Thursday, November 22, 2018


Led into temptation

Thursday, November 22, 2018


The struggle ahead

Wednesday, November 21, 2018


Excommunicated Catholics are still Catholics

Wednesday, November 21, 2018


Exorcism requests on the rise

Wednesday, November 21, 2018


Synodality upended

Tuesday, November 20, 2018


The Vatican’s quashing of American initiative

Tuesday, November 20, 2018


The problem with human “dignity”

Monday, November 19, 2018


Pope Francis owns this now

Monday, November 19, 2018


Hope despite a failed meeting?

Friday, November 16, 2018


On being a militant Catholic today

Friday, November 16, 2018


Why the bishops can’t solve the crisis

Thursday, November 15, 2018


Boggled in Baltimore

Wednesday, November 14, 2018


China ramps up persecution in wake of Vatican deal

Wednesday, November 14, 2018


About the Lavender Mafia

Tuesday, November 13, 2018


The bishop’s job

Tuesday, November 13, 2018


Islamized Britain

Monday, November 12, 2018


A Catholic funeral for Whitey Bulger?

Monday, November 12, 2018


Two types of schism

Friday, November 9, 2018


It’s worse than you think

Thursday, November 8, 2018