RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

Commentary Archives - The Catholic Thing


An Easter lament for closed churches

Thursday, April 9, 2020


Francis approves group to create Amazonian church

Thursday, April 9, 2020


Should the Vatican send thanks to Australia?

Wednesday, April 8, 2020


Why Holy Week is Holy

Wednesday, April 8, 2020


Psalms in time of pandemic

Tuesday, April 7, 2020


Moral guidance during a pandemic

Tuesday, April 7, 2020


Corona of Thorns

Monday, April 6, 2020


Irony in John’s Gospel

Friday, April 3, 2020


Sacraments in a time of virus

Friday, April 3, 2020


Americans pray but stay away from religious services due to COVID-19

Thursday, April 2, 2020


Rutler resilient in Hell’s Kitchen

Thursday, April 2, 2020


Catholics on the shutdown

Wednesday, April 1, 2020


COVID-19 and canon law

Wednesday, April 1, 2020


Getting to know the Fathers

Tuesday, March 31, 2020


Another view

Tuesday, March 31, 2020


Church: A non-essential?

Monday, March 30, 2020


Watching Mass during Passion Week

Monday, March 30, 2020


What is a plenary indulgence?

Friday, March 27, 2020


Preparing for rain days – like today

Friday, March 27, 2020


Coping with the “sanitary dictatorship”

Thursday, March 26, 2020


It isn’t the Black Death

Thursday, March 26, 2020


Church also suffering from empty rhetoric

Wednesday, March 25, 2020


Creation, fall, and coronavirus

Wednesday, March 25, 2020


The Origins of Quarantine in Lent

Tuesday, March 24, 2020


Ratzinger: Fasting from the Eucharist

Tuesday, March 24, 2020


Keep churches open!

Monday, March 23, 2020


The ecclesial politics of a plague

Monday, March 23, 2020


Homeschool

Friday, March 20, 2020


Four virtues for this crisis

Friday, March 20, 2020


The irony of St. Corona

Thursday, March 19, 2020


The new death calculus

Thursday, March 19, 2020


Facing the pandemic as a Catholic

Wednesday, March 18, 2020


What’s next for Cardinal Pell?

Wednesday, March 18, 2020


Biden betrays fellow Catholics

Tuesday, March 17, 2020


The time of the virus

Tuesday, March 17, 2020


The 1918 pandemic and churches

Monday, March 16, 2020


Self-quarantined? How to make a spiritual Communion

Monday, March 16, 2020


Pope weak in Argentine abortion fight

Friday, March 13, 2020


Coronavirus gives Vatican extra time for. . .?

Friday, March 13, 2020


Scenes from Rome’s lockdown

Thursday, March 12, 2020


Chinese propaganda calls it “the Italian virus”

Wednesday, March 11, 2020


Cancelling Masses not the answer to virus

Wednesday, March 11, 2020


A last chance for Australian justice

Tuesday, March 10, 2020


On the Transfiguration and us

Tuesday, March 10, 2020


Pope to Chinese Catholics: Be good citizens

Monday, March 9, 2020


Daniel Vanier – and what comes next

Monday, March 9, 2020


What would a real Catholic politician look like?

Friday, March 6, 2020


Down with ugly churches!

Friday, March 6, 2020


Justice for Pius XII

Thursday, March 5, 2020


Theological commission reports on controversial issues

Wednesday, March 4, 2020