RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

Commentary Archives - The Catholic Thing


The limits of papal power

Friday, October 15, 2021


Vatican reception of Pelosi undercuts US bishops 

Friday, October 15, 2021


St. Joseph’s Celestial Appearance at Fatima

Thursday, October 14, 2021


Wild porcupines and other weirdness in Rome this week

Wednesday, October 13, 2021


What was Vatican II, anyway?

Wednesday, October 13, 2021


Synodality raises many questions

Tuesday, October 12, 2021


The real Columbus and the Crisis of the West

Tuesday, October 12, 2021


Pope names 3 risks of his synod on synodality

Monday, October 11, 2021


Heartbeat Law and the Pro-Life Movement

Monday, October 11, 2021


Remembering Lepanto

Friday, October 8, 2021


Enrolled in the Religion of Fear

Friday, October 8, 2021


Cuban priest to the European and American Left: socialism fails

Thursday, October 7, 2021


Cdl. Burke calls for a Holy League

Thursday, October 7, 2021


What just happened in Frankfurt?

Wednesday, October 6, 2021


Cdl. Sarah: The credibility of the Church

Wednesday, October 6, 2021


God Is Missing in the Economy of Francesco

Tuesday, October 5, 2021


St. Francis: the first millennial?

Tuesday, October 5, 2021


Germans call for blessing same-sex couples

Monday, October 4, 2021


Marriage Is a Miracle!

Monday, October 4, 2021


Calculated risk: Lourdes during COVID

Friday, October 1, 2021


Washington Post misleads on US abortion laws vs other countries

Thursday, September 30, 2021


Exorcizing demons

Thursday, September 30, 2021


The nature of Middle-Earth

Wednesday, September 29, 2021


Becoming signs of contradiction

Wednesday, September 29, 2021


What’s missing from “bodily autonomy”

Tuesday, September 28, 2021


On miracles

Tuesday, September 28, 2021


Conscience and COVID vaccines

Monday, September 27, 2021


Clinging to God and grammar

Friday, September 24, 2021


The Pope v. EWTN

Friday, September 24, 2021


Catholic “beliefs” and the abortion debate

Thursday, September 23, 2021


Biden abortion bill most extreme ever

Thursday, September 23, 2021


St. Robert Bellarmine at 400

Wednesday, September 22, 2021


Pope Francis, ultra-conservative?

Wednesday, September 22, 2021


Why are big corps hysterical about Texas abortion law?

Tuesday, September 21, 2021


Are women still human?

Tuesday, September 21, 2021


Synodality as as an endless “journey”

Monday, September 20, 2021


Biden Contradicts Faith, Reason — and Himself

Monday, September 20, 2021


Chanting the Novus Ordo

Friday, September 17, 2021


Chesterton Schools rising

Friday, September 17, 2021


Our Lady of Sorrows

Thursday, September 16, 2021


Work in the spirit of St. John Paul II

Thursday, September 16, 2021


The Church and life’s beginning

Wednesday, September 15, 2021


Dante’s message to the world

Wednesday, September 15, 2021


Roe will go

Tuesday, September 14, 2021


Stop the slander of Junipero Serra

Tuesday, September 14, 2021


Pope praises Cdl. O’Malley, but why?

Monday, September 13, 2021


Men abandoning higher education

Monday, September 13, 2021


Never forget

Friday, September 10, 2021


Wyszynski to be beatified Sunday

Friday, September 10, 2021


Two cheers for the Texas heartbeat act

Friday, September 10, 2021