Commentary Archives - The Catholic Thing


Cardinal Dolan: Hopeful about Trump

Friday, January 20, 2017


2+2=5

Friday, January 20, 2017


Bringing politics back to reality

Thursday, January 19, 2017


Catholics top Trump advisors

Thursday, January 19, 2017


Open letter to Pope Francis on abortion

Wednesday, January 18, 2017


The Bomb that bombed

Wednesday, January 18, 2017


On the verge of a Latin American schism?

Tuesday, January 17, 2017


On the pope and plagiarism

Tuesday, January 17, 2017


The Maltese disaster

Monday, January 16, 2017


“Exorcist” author dies – reform efforts at Georgetown live

Monday, January 16, 2017


The Biblical meaning of hope

Friday, January 13, 2017


Obama’s impact

Friday, January 13, 2017


Does Hell contradict God’s goodness?

Thursday, January 12, 2017


On confusion in the Church

Thursday, January 12, 2017


The Devil and Hilary Mantel

Wednesday, January 11, 2017


Lessons from the patriarch Joseph

Wednesday, January 11, 2017


Bioethics in 2017

Tuesday, January 10, 2017


Pope Francis’ address to the diplomatic corps

Tuesday, January 10, 2017


Father Scanlan, RIP

Monday, January 9, 2017


Hard cases make bad canon law

Monday, January 9, 2017


On the blessings of Epiphany

Friday, January 6, 2017


Müller in the middle

Friday, January 6, 2017


Catholicism returns to France

Thursday, January 5, 2017


“Silence” and the Communion dispute

Thursday, January 5, 2017


2017: hundredth anniversary of Fatima

Wednesday, January 4, 2017


On learning to pray better

Wednesday, January 4, 2017


On shared Communion

Tuesday, January 3, 2017


The pastoral and moral crises ahead

Tuesday, January 3, 2017


Amoris Laetitia: a look ahead

Monday, January 2, 2017


Where’s the pope on Syria?

Monday, January 2, 2017


Happy Birthday, Jesus

Friday, December 23, 2016


Obama protects the religious rights of . . . atheists

Friday, December 23, 2016


Why did Christ’s Coming take so long?

Friday, December 23, 2016


Happy Birthday, Jesus

Thursday, December 22, 2016


ISIS redirects towards Russia

Thursday, December 22, 2016


An actual war on Christians

Wednesday, December 21, 2016


Amoris laetitia and everything after

Wednesday, December 21, 2016


Denial flows into the Tiber

Tuesday, December 20, 2016


Eight reasons to give thanks for the pope

Tuesday, December 20, 2016


Debunking the “dubia”

Monday, December 19, 2016


“The world has no need of couch potatoes.”

Monday, December 19, 2016


Cdl. Kasper: Next, Communion for Protestants

Friday, December 16, 2016


Chaplains of death

Friday, December 16, 2016


Our Lady of – Silence?

Thursday, December 15, 2016


John Henry Newman: conservative or liberal?

Thursday, December 15, 2016


Accentuate the negative

Wednesday, December 14, 2016


The end of Christianity in Egypt?

Wednesday, December 14, 2016


The link between Lepanto and Guadalupe

Tuesday, December 13, 2016


Hiroshima, mon Amoris?

Tuesday, December 13, 2016


A Vatican “reign of terror”?

Monday, December 12, 2016