RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

Commentary Archives - The Catholic Thing


Restoring Notre-Dame de Paris

Friday, January 17, 2020


A married priest on celibacy

Friday, January 17, 2020


The paradox of agreement on celibacy

Friday, January 17, 2020


Sex, Celibacy, and Roman Curiosities

Thursday, January 16, 2020


Behind the Sarah-Benedict book controversy

Thursday, January 16, 2020


Priests and politics

Wednesday, January 15, 2020


Simplicity itself

Wednesday, January 15, 2020


Rethinking the USCCB

Tuesday, January 14, 2020


Architect: Rebuild Notre Dame’s roof in wood

Tuesday, January 14, 2020


Fierce loyalties

Monday, January 13, 2020


Roger Scruton RIP

Monday, January 13, 2020


Will the McCarrick report be delayed?

Friday, January 10, 2020


“Renewing” the priesthood – 1960s model

Friday, January 10, 2020


Bishops and bribes

Thursday, January 9, 2020


The Martini cave-in

Thursday, January 9, 2020


Catholic Zionism

Wednesday, January 8, 2020


A glimpse of BXVI’s life in the Vatican

Wednesday, January 8, 2020


Planned Parenthood’s mission: Abortion

Tuesday, January 7, 2020


The end of pseudo-liberalism

Tuesday, January 7, 2020


Europe’s churches under attack

Monday, January 6, 2020


From Magi to Wise Men

Monday, January 6, 2020


Is every family a holy family?

Friday, January 3, 2020


Why Catholics revere Mary

Friday, January 3, 2020


New Year’s resolutions for concerned Catholics

Thursday, January 2, 2020


Saint Mary, Health of the Roman People

Thursday, January 2, 2020


The Cross, the lifejacket, and idolatry

Wednesday, December 25, 2019


“Harry Potter” author condemned for truthfulness

Tuesday, December 24, 2019


God is true

Monday, December 23, 2019


Losing faith in the humanities

Monday, December 23, 2019


Mayor Pete’s “gay” fantasies

Friday, December 20, 2019


Mr. Rogers and culture

Friday, December 20, 2019


Heading for World War III?

Thursday, December 19, 2019


Pope Francis’ political misreading

Wednesday, December 18, 2019


“Accompany” suicides?

Wednesday, December 18, 2019


The true source of joy

Tuesday, December 17, 2019


Praying the “O Antiphons” in Advent

Tuesday, December 17, 2019


Don’t just defend, attack!

Monday, December 16, 2019


Lies about abortion deaths before Roe

Monday, December 16, 2019


Against the open society

Friday, December 13, 2019


Realism – not panic – about climate

Friday, December 13, 2019


The 40th anniversary of Fulton Sheen’s death

Thursday, December 12, 2019


The next pope?

Thursday, December 12, 2019


America as a Catholic country

Wednesday, December 11, 2019


Will Cdl. Tagle be the next pope?

Wednesday, December 11, 2019


Who was Isaiah, what was his message?

Tuesday, December 10, 2019


The real Santa: St. Nicholas

Tuesday, December 10, 2019


An anthem for postliberals

Monday, December 9, 2019


Marian vision converted Harvard professor

Monday, December 9, 2019


Cardinal Schönborn’s blunt comments on abuse

Friday, December 6, 2019


On supersessionism

Friday, December 6, 2019