RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

Commentary Archives - The Catholic Thing


Church-going RC’s say pro-aborts shouldn’t receive Eucharist

Friday, June 18, 2021


Fathers Day: four principles for dads

Friday, June 18, 2021


Tolkien & theology

Thursday, June 17, 2021


Beautiful architecture matters more than ever

Thursday, June 17, 2021


Escaping the prison of self-invention

Wednesday, June 16, 2021


USCCB meeting: overhyped?

Wednesday, June 16, 2021


Providence, prosperity, and purpose

Tuesday, June 15, 2021


The stages of sin

Tuesday, June 15, 2021


Vatican reform a mixed bag

Monday, June 14, 2021


Pitiful “pride”

Monday, June 14, 2021


NYT admits errors about Pius XII

Friday, June 11, 2021


Hate crimes rising: against Catholics

Friday, June 11, 2021


Cdl. Marx’s resignation – and its possible consequences

Thursday, June 10, 2021


On meaningless apologies

Thursday, June 10, 2021


List of bishops opposing Communion discussion

Wednesday, June 9, 2021


Returning to the Way

Tuesday, June 8, 2021


U.S. birth rates are dropping because we devalue families

Tuesday, June 8, 2021


Ontario Catholic schools: All-in for “Gay Pride”

Monday, June 7, 2021


Three teachings on Corpus Christi

Monday, June 7, 2021


Fr. James Martin’s subtle undermining

Friday, June 4, 2021


The bishops will discuss more than abortion this month

Friday, June 4, 2021


Who sets Church policy?

Thursday, June 3, 2021


“Problem children” in politics

Wednesday, June 2, 2021


The past is prologue

Wednesday, June 2, 2021


Don’t abandon your mother

Tuesday, June 1, 2021


In time

Tuesday, June 1, 2021


1+1+1 = God

Monday, May 31, 2021


The last full measure

Monday, May 31, 2021


Mass and masquerade in Ireland

Friday, May 28, 2021


A process about processes

Friday, May 28, 2021


What happens in Germany . . .

Thursday, May 27, 2021


Stealth Threats from the Administrative State

Thursday, May 27, 2021


Royal on Dreher

Wednesday, May 26, 2021


Communion is for defenders of life

Wednesday, May 26, 2021


For the care of souls

Tuesday, May 25, 2021


Blessing and blasphemy

Tuesday, May 25, 2021


The dark world of fetal tissue research

Monday, May 24, 2021


Destroying Christendom to save it?

Monday, May 24, 2021


The wrong kind of mess

Friday, May 21, 2021


The clash of cultures

Friday, May 21, 2021


Democrats and Manasseh

Thursday, May 20, 2021


What does “agreement” have to do with Truth?

Thursday, May 20, 2021


Sen. Kaine is no theologian

Wednesday, May 19, 2021


In persona Pelosi

Wednesday, May 19, 2021


Sex Abuse in the German Church

Tuesday, May 18, 2021


The heart of Eucharistic debates

Tuesday, May 18, 2021


The Book of Normal

Monday, May 17, 2021


The Argentine president’s odd visit with the pope

Monday, May 17, 2021


JPII assassination attempt: 40 years later

Friday, May 14, 2021


Reading Ladaria’s letter

Friday, May 14, 2021