RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

Commentary Archives - The Catholic Thing


Five takeaways from the pope’s latest interview

Friday, December 2, 2022


Synodality and its issues

Friday, December 2, 2022


Genocide in Ukraine?

Thursday, December 1, 2022


German Synodal Way: defying logic

Thursday, December 1, 2022


The 2024 Eucharistic Congress: processions and pilgrimages

Wednesday, November 30, 2022


The reality of the China-Vatican deal

Wednesday, November 30, 2022


John the Baptist: saint of Advent

Tuesday, November 29, 2022


Cardinal Zen’s conviction: no one’s safe in Hong Kong

Tuesday, November 29, 2022


What’s it like to be a ‘traditionalist’ Catholic in Germany?

Monday, November 28, 2022


Suffering, divine punishment of the good and the wicked

Monday, November 28, 2022


Christ the Phoenix

Thursday, November 24, 2022


Justice Delayed

Thursday, November 24, 2022


Ireland’s next referendum

Wednesday, November 23, 2022


Cardinal Müller on the limits of papal power

Tuesday, November 22, 2022


Pro-choice pols?

Monday, November 21, 2022


Christ the King—of thieves

Monday, November 21, 2022


The G20 gets religion

Friday, November 18, 2022


Observations on the USCCB elections

Friday, November 18, 2022


Dangers of puberty blockers for “trans” kids

Thursday, November 17, 2022


Diminished bishops, the new ultramontanism, and the Synodal process

Thursday, November 17, 2022


Are bishops Vatican bureaucrats?

Wednesday, November 16, 2022


Are you a ‘stochastic terrorist’

Wednesday, November 16, 2022


“Safeguards” cannot make euthanasia safe

Tuesday, November 15, 2022


What the Pro-Life Movement Lost and Won

Tuesday, November 15, 2022


Reject politics in the Church

Monday, November 14, 2022


Journey through a passing world

Monday, November 14, 2022


Link between marijuana and psychosis can’t be ignored

Friday, November 11, 2022


The Age of Ingratitude

Friday, November 11, 2022


Confession of an LGBT activist

Thursday, November 10, 2022


A Tale of Two Caseys (in Pennsylvania)

Thursday, November 10, 2022


Be Catholic first

Wednesday, November 9, 2022


The Iron Triangle of Revelation

Wednesday, November 9, 2022


The Fifth Gospel: the Shroud

Tuesday, November 8, 2022


Voting your Catholic conscience

Tuesday, November 8, 2022


Cardinal Burke and Bishop Schneider restate concerns about TLM restrictions

Monday, November 7, 2022


“Father Stu” re-edited for families

Monday, November 7, 2022


Mariana Mazzucato’s Reveal

Friday, November 4, 2022


Catholic social teaching in a time of dissolution

Friday, November 4, 2022


Why we pray for the dead

Thursday, November 3, 2022


Against Drag Queen Story Hour

Thursday, November 3, 2022


“The Bodies of the Saints Rest in Peace”

Wednesday, November 2, 2022


The Kindness Challenge

Wednesday, November 2, 2022


Jesuits control the Church

Tuesday, November 1, 2022


An unlikely ally of traditional liturgy

Tuesday, November 1, 2022


Catholicism: the most-inclusive faith

Monday, October 31, 2022


Why are so many Vatican appointees at odds with Church teaching?

Monday, October 31, 2022


Gay vs. queer

Friday, October 28, 2022


Who is doing the discerning during the synod?

Friday, October 28, 2022


A world without rules?

Thursday, October 27, 2022


Harms done by “Gay” marriage

Thursday, October 27, 2022