RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

Commentary Archives - The Catholic Thing


What’s missing from “bodily autonomy”

Tuesday, September 28, 2021


On miracles

Tuesday, September 28, 2021


Conscience and COVID vaccines

Monday, September 27, 2021


Clinging to God and grammar

Friday, September 24, 2021


The Pope v. EWTN

Friday, September 24, 2021


Catholic “beliefs” and the abortion debate

Thursday, September 23, 2021


Biden abortion bill most extreme ever

Thursday, September 23, 2021


St. Robert Bellarmine at 400

Wednesday, September 22, 2021


Pope Francis, ultra-conservative?

Wednesday, September 22, 2021


Why are big corps hysterical about Texas abortion law?

Tuesday, September 21, 2021


Are women still human?

Tuesday, September 21, 2021


Synodality as as an endless “journey”

Monday, September 20, 2021


Biden Contradicts Faith, Reason — and Himself

Monday, September 20, 2021


Chanting the Novus Ordo

Friday, September 17, 2021


Chesterton Schools rising

Friday, September 17, 2021


Our Lady of Sorrows

Thursday, September 16, 2021


Work in the spirit of St. John Paul II

Thursday, September 16, 2021


The Church and life’s beginning

Wednesday, September 15, 2021


Dante’s message to the world

Wednesday, September 15, 2021


Roe will go

Tuesday, September 14, 2021


Stop the slander of Junipero Serra

Tuesday, September 14, 2021


Pope praises Cdl. O’Malley, but why?

Monday, September 13, 2021


Men abandoning higher education

Monday, September 13, 2021


Never forget

Friday, September 10, 2021


Wyszynski to be beatified Sunday

Friday, September 10, 2021


Two cheers for the Texas heartbeat act

Friday, September 10, 2021


Is synodality the path to secularism?

Thursday, September 9, 2021


In praise of agnostics

Thursday, September 9, 2021


Will women vote in the ’23 synod?

Thursday, September 9, 2021


Fix Texas abortion law: Overturn Roe

Wednesday, September 8, 2021


Deciphering synodality

Wednesday, September 8, 2021


Cordileone: Excommunication on the table

Tuesday, September 7, 2021


Exporting the LGBTQ+ Agenda

Tuesday, September 7, 2021


10 takeaways from the pope’s latest interview

Monday, September 6, 2021


On the office and selection of bishops

Monday, September 6, 2021


The latest papal interview

Friday, September 3, 2021


Episcopal coherence

Friday, September 3, 2021


The love of law, and law of love

Thursday, September 2, 2021


Vatican diplomacy making a difference

Thursday, September 2, 2021


Why and how to read Augustine’s Confessions

Wednesday, September 1, 2021


Erasmus for President

Wednesday, September 1, 2021


The hour of Jesus

Tuesday, August 31, 2021


Behind the papal resignation rumors

Tuesday, August 31, 2021


The church has helped Afghanistan for years

Monday, August 30, 2021


Lapsing at college

Monday, August 30, 2021


Rule of law, not of Bishops

Friday, August 27, 2021


The genius of sacred music

Friday, August 27, 2021


Wanted: A Catholic Chaim Potok

Thursday, August 26, 2021


Why the popes love Dante

Thursday, August 26, 2021


Protecting Afghanistan’s Religious Minorities

Wednesday, August 25, 2021