RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

Commentary Archives - Page 2 of 93 - The Catholic Thing


Solzhenitsyn in exile

Thursday, January 17, 2019


Fidelity or idolatry?

Wednesday, January 16, 2019


Why’d didn’t Cdl. Wuerl come clean?

Wednesday, January 16, 2019


The pope who knew too much

Tuesday, January 15, 2019


Behind the KofC flap

Tuesday, January 15, 2019


Takeaways from the Fr. McCloskey revelations

Monday, January 14, 2019


American Catholics losing trust in clergy

Monday, January 14, 2019


The Eucharist and doctrinal struggles

Friday, January 11, 2019


Pro-life “Mexico City policy” not enough

Friday, January 11, 2019


Dancing around the Caravan

Thursday, January 10, 2019


Bad news from Argentina

Thursday, January 10, 2019


Time for a new Counter-Reformation

Wednesday, January 9, 2019


A line in the sand on homosexuality

Wednesday, January 9, 2019


Cardinal Marx and the Francis papacy

Tuesday, January 8, 2019


Pope Francis, hit by friendly fire

Tuesday, January 8, 2019


The problem with the pope’s letter to the U.S. bishops

Monday, January 7, 2019


A rough start to 2019 for Pope Francis

Monday, January 7, 2019


NY Times pushes pro-choice myths

Friday, January 4, 2019


Three books on Islam

Thursday, January 3, 2019


Six positive developments in 2018

Thursday, January 3, 2019


Senators attack Church via KofC

Wednesday, January 2, 2019


Scandal, loss of confidence end 2018

Wednesday, January 2, 2019


Learning to “love your enemy” in a Soviet labor camp

Friday, December 21, 2018


On the pope’s changes to the Our Father

Friday, December 21, 2018


God Bless Fr. La Cuesta

Thursday, December 20, 2018


Pope’s remarks on death penalty incoherent and dangerous

Thursday, December 20, 2018


Weinandy: Pope must address homosexuality

Wednesday, December 19, 2018


Fasting, Ember Days, and reparation for sins

Wednesday, December 19, 2018


Foul weather and fair warning

Tuesday, December 18, 2018


The inexplicable conviction of Cardinal Pell

Tuesday, December 18, 2018


Cardinal Burke in Wisconsin

Monday, December 17, 2018


Understanding the Vatican-China pact

Monday, December 17, 2018


On loyal gentlemen

Friday, December 14, 2018


Robert Spaemann, the last great Catholic philosopher

Friday, December 14, 2018


Pope: “Gay” mentality un-Catholic

Thursday, December 13, 2018


With fife and drum

Thursday, December 13, 2018


Does saying “Merry Christmas” matter?

Wednesday, December 12, 2018


Religious freedom 2, Obamacare 0

Wednesday, December 12, 2018


The pope’s warnings about homosexuals in the clergy

Tuesday, December 11, 2018


A short defense of authentic synodality

Tuesday, December 11, 2018


Mary, Did You Know? Um, yes.

Monday, December 10, 2018


What NOT to expect from the Vatican summit

Monday, December 10, 2018


Rewarding China’s despotism

Friday, December 7, 2018


From Uncle Fultie to Uncle Ted

Friday, December 7, 2018


Avoiding another fiasco in February

Thursday, December 6, 2018


Missing the story on abortion decline

Thursday, December 6, 2018


St. Paul and “the mystery of evil”

Wednesday, December 5, 2018


Advent is the remedy for the crisis

Tuesday, December 4, 2018


Shakespeare’s pro-Catholic broadside

Tuesday, December 4, 2018


The bomb, the pill, and false security

Monday, December 3, 2018