Commentary Archives - Page 2 of 92 - The Catholic Thing


McCarrick’s seminarians

Thursday, November 8, 2018


Two kinds of Jesuits

Wednesday, November 7, 2018


Why bishops’ appointments seem on hold

Wednesday, November 7, 2018


The Point of “Gosnell”

Tuesday, November 6, 2018


A cry of the heart to our bishops

Tuesday, November 6, 2018


Homosexual priests and abuse

Monday, November 5, 2018


Visions of the Gunpowder Plot

Friday, November 2, 2018


“Synodality”: an “obvious manipulation”

Friday, November 2, 2018


What’s behind abuse and coverup?

Thursday, November 1, 2018


Germans ruled the Synod

Thursday, November 1, 2018


Why Catholic teaching is increasingly embarrassing to Church leaders

Thursday, November 1, 2018


The smoke of Satan

Wednesday, October 31, 2018


Sex and “synodality”

Wednesday, October 31, 2018


Hate has no home in America

Tuesday, October 30, 2018


Exorcism on the rise

Tuesday, October 30, 2018


St. Pius XII?

Monday, October 29, 2018


Highlights of the final Synod report

Monday, October 29, 2018


Synod: a rush to judgment

Monday, October 29, 2018


On the purpose of Islam

Friday, October 26, 2018


The Synod: a Protestant view

Friday, October 26, 2018


Look homeward, Cdl. Maradiaga

Thursday, October 25, 2018


African cardinal: no “diluting the truth” at Synod

Thursday, October 25, 2018


Want a new youth strategy: Check the Marines

Wednesday, October 24, 2018


Double lives

Wednesday, October 24, 2018


Assessing the Vatican-China deal

Tuesday, October 23, 2018


On Vigano’s third letter

Tuesday, October 23, 2018


Nuns on the run

Tuesday, October 23, 2018


The crisis of the Church under Francis

Monday, October 22, 2018


St. JPII’s challenge for the Synod

Monday, October 22, 2018


A false paradigm

Friday, October 19, 2018


What kind of archbishop does DC need now?

Friday, October 19, 2018


The righting the Barque of Peter

Thursday, October 18, 2018


Argentina must not backdown

Thursday, October 18, 2018


Should lay people investigate cardinals?

Wednesday, October 17, 2018


All are welcome – to what exactly?

Wednesday, October 17, 2018


Francis and the tangle of abuse

Tuesday, October 16, 2018


Priesthood: Forsaking and receiving

Tuesday, October 16, 2018


Papal homily at canonization Mass

Monday, October 15, 2018


Is the Synod a class war?

Monday, October 15, 2018


Pope Francis has “his” Synod

Friday, October 12, 2018


Cdl. Sarah on “The Spirit of the Liturgy”

Friday, October 12, 2018


Why Cdl. Cupich is wrong

Thursday, October 11, 2018


On (righteous) anger

Thursday, October 11, 2018


The Vatican’s confusion

Wednesday, October 10, 2018


Did Communist Chinese appoint two synod bishops?

Wednesday, October 10, 2018


Young people and the Latin Mass

Tuesday, October 9, 2018


Madness in the Senate gallery

Tuesday, October 9, 2018


Call the crisis by its right name: homosexuality

Monday, October 8, 2018


The pope and the accusers

Monday, October 8, 2018


What to do about Church corruption?

Friday, October 5, 2018