Commentary Archives - Page 2 of 83 - The Catholic Thing


Eminem and Gandhi are right

Friday, January 19, 2018


“Ecclesial reception” in the Francis era

Thursday, January 18, 2018


Test your conscience

Thursday, January 18, 2018


On popes, Sacred Tradition, and the Word of God

Wednesday, January 17, 2018


On Jesus and bending the law

Wednesday, January 17, 2018


Pope Francis and ideology

Tuesday, January 16, 2018


Saint and scribe

Tuesday, January 16, 2018


Recovering Latin

Monday, January 15, 2018


Thoughts on the Hawaii missile scare

Monday, January 15, 2018


St. Augustine, a guide in perplexing times

Friday, January 12, 2018


The Pauline Privilege – and marriage

Friday, January 12, 2018


Demons tremble — so should we

Thursday, January 11, 2018


2017: a year of pro-life victories

Thursday, January 11, 2018


Moral collapse at Georgetown

Wednesday, January 10, 2018


On being truly dogmatic

Wednesday, January 10, 2018


Walking with the wise

Tuesday, January 9, 2018


Paris’ new (very pro-life) archbishop

Tuesday, January 9, 2018


Catholic peace with secular liberalism?

Monday, January 8, 2018


Loose Canons

Monday, January 8, 2018


The great thinker we don’t know

Friday, January 5, 2018


On civility

Friday, January 5, 2018


The Pope and the Physicist

Thursday, January 4, 2018


Washington Post attacks historical Jesus on Christmas – again

Thursday, January 4, 2018


Notes on the letter by three bishops

Wednesday, January 3, 2018


The pope and anti-Christian violence

Wednesday, January 3, 2018


Merry Christmas, Iraq

Friday, December 22, 2017


Cardinal Law: tragedy and scandal

Friday, December 22, 2017


Reframing democracy

Thursday, December 21, 2017


The story of the “Star Wars” island

Thursday, December 21, 2017


The gift of not shopping

Wednesday, December 20, 2017


Four top LGBT myths

Wednesday, December 20, 2017


The joyful scandal of Advent

Tuesday, December 19, 2017


What is a Catholic Social Order?

Tuesday, December 19, 2017


Lead us not into temptation

Monday, December 18, 2017


Ex-Gay Catholic: homosexual lifestyle leads to devastation

Monday, December 18, 2017


The season of prayer and witness

Monday, December 18, 2017


“Dictator” author: I’ll be unmasked

Friday, December 15, 2017


The complexities of Poland

Friday, December 15, 2017


Where the Church now stands on Amoris Laetitia

Thursday, December 14, 2017


In defense of St. Junipero Serra

Thursday, December 14, 2017


A doctor on “transgenders”

Wednesday, December 13, 2017


How the sexual revolution became dogma

Wednesday, December 13, 2017


Basilica of the Immaculate Conception: finally finished

Tuesday, December 12, 2017


Why we shouldn’t change the Our Father

Tuesday, December 12, 2017


Why damnation is eternal, etc.

Monday, December 11, 2017


Pope did not call for change in the Lord’s Prayer

Monday, December 11, 2017


American secularists bully Catholics

Friday, December 8, 2017


The real story of St. Nicholas

Thursday, December 7, 2017


Our claim on God’s mercy

Thursday, December 7, 2017


Francis’ dramatic – and confusing – moves on Communion

Wednesday, December 6, 2017