RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

2016 Archives - The Catholic Thing


Light from the East for Millennials – and Everyone

Friday, January 13, 2017


The Mystery in the Christ Child’s Smile

Saturday, December 31, 2016


The “Good News” of an Ideological Party

Friday, December 30, 2016


Speak Truth to Power?

Thursday, December 29, 2016


Our Responsibility to Criticize Islam

Wednesday, December 28, 2016


A Christmas Baptism in Exile

Tuesday, December 27, 2016


Christus Apostata: Scorsese’s “Silence”

Monday, December 26, 2016


He Who Speaks to You

Sunday, December 25, 2016


Words and the Word

Saturday, December 24, 2016


Envy, at Christmastime

Friday, December 23, 2016


The Coming of Christmas

Thursday, December 22, 2016


Behold Your King Comes

Wednesday, December 21, 2016


On Being a Person

Tuesday, December 20, 2016


Emmanuel and Islam

Monday, December 19, 2016


“The Obedience of Faith”

Sunday, December 18, 2016


Rewriting the History of Two Synods?

Saturday, December 17, 2016


Can We Float in Mid-air?

Friday, December 16, 2016


The Pope, Christmas, and the “Fake News” about Hitler

Thursday, December 15, 2016


On the Feast of St. John of the Cross

Wednesday, December 14, 2016


Prophecies and Charlie’s Angels

Tuesday, December 13, 2016


Catholic and Correct: Zmirak’s “PIG Catholicism”

Monday, December 12, 2016


Wise Men

Sunday, December 11, 2016


Fact & Fiction

Saturday, December 10, 2016


On God, the Moral Law, and Losing Your Mind

Friday, December 9, 2016


Mary’s Wild Tranquility

Thursday, December 8, 2016


The Vagina Monologues Are Silenced

Wednesday, December 7, 2016


On War

Tuesday, December 6, 2016


The Quality of Mercy

Monday, December 5, 2016


Season of Hope

Sunday, December 4, 2016


The Dangerous Road of Papal Silence

Saturday, December 3, 2016


Whose Side Are We on?

Friday, December 2, 2016


Is the Gospel Opposed to the Law?

Thursday, December 1, 2016


Semper Fidel

Wednesday, November 30, 2016


The Church is not Putty in the Hands of “History”

Tuesday, November 29, 2016


Divorce, Abortion. . .What’s Next?

Monday, November 28, 2016


A Catholic Advent

Sunday, November 27, 2016


Silence of the Lions

Saturday, November 26, 2016


Mea Maxima Culpa: Who Am I to Judge?

Friday, November 25, 2016


How to Make America Great

Thursday, November 24, 2016


Debtors and Trespassers

Wednesday, November 23, 2016


Personalities in the Trinity

Tuesday, November 22, 2016


On the Whole Human Race

Monday, November 21, 2016


What Makes God Glad?

Sunday, November 20, 2016


“You Have Hurt My Feelings”

Saturday, November 19, 2016


Respecting Traditional Catholics

Friday, November 18, 2016


Consistory Chronicle: Day One

Thursday, November 17, 2016


Rigidity Dog Whistle

Wednesday, November 16, 2016


Destroying Freedom in the Name of Freedom

Tuesday, November 15, 2016


Burning Men: A Review of “Hacksaw Ridge”

Monday, November 14, 2016


Dear Bishops, Beware

Sunday, November 13, 2016