RECENT COLUMNS

Archives

Francis X. Maier


Dinner with a Long Spoon

Wednesday, May 11, 2022


True Confessions

Thursday, April 28, 2022


70 Bishops Warn of Germany’s “Synodal Path”

Tuesday, April 12, 2022


Our “Land of the Free” Today

Thursday, March 17, 2022


Selling Murder

Saturday, March 5, 2022


Pro Deo et Patria

Monday, February 14, 2022


Ukraine and the Western Conscience

Thursday, January 27, 2022


Memory, History, and Hope

Sunday, January 16, 2022


2022: There’s Good News and Bad News

Saturday, January 1, 2022


The Promise and Peril of Synods

Thursday, December 9, 2021


Gratitude, Expectation, and Advent

Friday, November 26, 2021


A Candle for Roger

Thursday, November 11, 2021


Praying for the Pope

Tuesday, October 26, 2021


Two Cheers for Pessimism

Thursday, October 14, 2021


Voodoo and Its Enchantments

Thursday, September 30, 2021


Women of Character, Then and Now

Wednesday, August 25, 2021


Eat the Disabled?  Follow the Science

Saturday, July 24, 2021


Thoughts on the Great Escape

Friday, June 18, 2021


Our Real Pandemic

Wednesday, May 5, 2021


The One Necessary Thing

Friday, April 16, 2021


Things Worth Dying For

Wednesday, March 3, 2021


Some Thoughts on Words and their Meanings

Thursday, February 4, 2021


Ordinary Time

Wednesday, January 20, 2021


Memory and Gratitude

Wednesday, December 9, 2020


People of the Lie

Saturday, November 14, 2020


Raised by Wolves

Wednesday, October 7, 2020


White Dwarf

Wednesday, September 2, 2020


Yes, We Have No Bernanos

Wednesday, August 5, 2020


Escape Clause

Saturday, July 4, 2020


All Conflict, All the Time

Wednesday, June 3, 2020


Redeemer of Man

Wednesday, May 6, 2020


Justinian’s Flea, Redux

Wednesday, April 1, 2020


To Make All Things New

Wednesday, March 4, 2020


Thoughts on the Lay Vocation

Wednesday, February 5, 2020


Salvation is from the Jews

Wednesday, January 8, 2020


The Catholic Thing Daily Email

Receive columns each morning about events in the Church and the world.

  • Join the 50k+ subscribers who receive The Catholic Thing's daily email

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

 Join the 50k+ subscribers who receive The Catholic Thing's daily email

The Catholic Thing Daily Email

Receive columns each morning about events in the Church and the world.

  • Join the 50k+ subscribers who receive The Catholic Thing's daily email

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

 Join the 50k+ subscribers who receive The Catholic Thing's daily email